Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Audio & Video

Notices

Car Audio Specialist, Come Here!!!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-15-2010, 10:52 PM   #1
THXEY [OP] THXEY is offline
Panda Jerk
THXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
THXEY's Avatar
Name: Jacob
Joined: Dec 2008, #11614
Location: San Diego
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 13,401
THXEY's Tacoma Gallery
Car Audio Specialist, Come Here!!!!

Ok so my setup-

4 Infinity kappas
Pioneer double din HU
4 channel alpine amp

soon to be installed-


500w mono alpine amp
10" alpine type-E sub


Question-
do i need a capacitor if im running two amps? i work at best buy and our car audio specialist says i should get one. but everyone else i talk to says its a waste of money.

correct me if im wrong but a capacitor dispurses the power more even which in turn saves battery power?

so what i would like to know is-


whats the pros and cons of a capacitor. because thats $50 i dont wanna spen if i dont have to.

thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
orvis will become famous soon enough
 
orvis's Avatar
Army:
Joined: May 2010, #37170
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 119
orvis's Tacoma Gallery
You shouldn't need a capacitor for that set up, the alternator and battery on your taco is more than enough. A capacitor works best for a car with a smaller alternator and battery and a longer power wire to the amps, and it is actually a drain on your system, it just smothes out the power to your amp and helps stop your lights from dimming.
You might want to look at getting a better sub, you are going to be way over powered with that amp, 1 type R would match up a lot better,
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:15 PM   #3
THXEY [OP] THXEY is offline
Panda Jerk
THXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
THXEY's Avatar
Name: Jacob
Joined: Dec 2008, #11614
Location: San Diego
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 13,401
THXEY's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by orvis View Post
You shouldn't need a capacitor for that set up, the alternator and battery on your taco is more than enough. A capacitor works best for a car with a smaller alternator and battery and a longer power wire to the amps, and it is actually a drain on your system, it just smothes out the power to your amp and helps stop your lights from dimming.
You might want to look at getting a better sub, you are going to be way over powered with that amp, 1 type R would match up a lot better,
the type r's are so deep though, theyre like twice as deep as the e's!!! i only have an access cab! the type e's run at 250rms so if anything ill run two tens. but thanks for the info and welcome to TW!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:40 PM   #4
GETTN IT
th3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shedth3bigk0 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
th3bigk0's Avatar
Name: Dylan
Joined: Nov 2009, #25512
Location: Lamecaster
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,884
th3bigk0's Tacoma Gallery
I run a 1000watt mono amp and a 500-4 channel.1jl12 and 4-6 1/2's and I don't run a cap.my headlights don't even dim.u should b ok
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:50 PM   #5
THXEY [OP] THXEY is offline
Panda Jerk
THXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shedTHXEY is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
THXEY's Avatar
Name: Jacob
Joined: Dec 2008, #11614
Location: San Diego
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 13,401
THXEY's Tacoma Gallery
Hmmm i won't get one....that's $50 I could use
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 01:32 AM   #6
Nuggety
Chickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Chickenmunga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Apr 2008, #5877
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 34
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,932
Chickenmunga's Tacoma Gallery
I run an 1100w RMS monoblock amp and run a 75x4 amp.
I had a spare battery I was going to install - Mr. Marv told me I didn't need it.


Save your cash.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 07:35 PM   #7
1/2 man 1/2 amazing
sooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shedsooner07 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: A A Ron
Joined: Feb 2008, #4783
Location: Killeen, Texas
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,390
sooner07's Tacoma Gallery
While the input is a bit late, you absolutely do not need a capacitor. While they are kinda cool to look at, and the ones with the voltage monitor gauge are nifty, your electrical system is more than capable of providing the power for your amps.

I wouldn't be against purchasing a cap if I had extra cash burning a hole in my pocket, but it would not be because it will improve any discernible specs in my audio system.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 10:02 PM   #8
Member
CoreyJ is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2009, #13320
Location: Laurel, MS
Gender: Male
Posts: 65
CoreyJ's Tacoma Gallery
I also work at Best Buy as a car audio installer.


And no, you do not need a cap. Especially not with your amps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 09:07 AM   #10
Nuggety
Chickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shedChickenmunga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Chickenmunga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Apr 2008, #5877
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 34
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,932
Chickenmunga's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by hookedontronics View Post
Don't waste your money on a cap. Buy some wire and do the "big 3 mod".
Unless you are removing the back seat for audio, you don't need to bother, and in that situation you would more likely be 'adding' than 'modding'. Toyota actually gives you ample enough hardware.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 09:29 AM   #11
Taco Man Sam
Ese Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shedEse Loco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Ese Loco's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2009, #19623
Location: Vero Beach, FL / Tampa, FL
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 428
Ese Loco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by hookedontronics View Post
Don't waste your money on a cap. Buy some wire and do the "big 3 mod".
Great advice and never a bad idea

And no, as everyone else has said. NO CAP necessary....In my opinion they're just a load of BS anyways haha
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car audio wire nobackhair Arizona 3 01-21-2012 09:50 AM
Who got audio system from Car Audio One in Chula Vista sanga700 Southern California 5 07-28-2011 12:07 AM
HELP!! I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT CAR AUDIO Marioso Audio & Video 41 02-28-2011 08:13 AM
just-installs car audio?? 95.5 taco Audio & Video 3 12-25-2010 11:24 PM
Car audio clean up dgr540 Buy / Sell / Trade 0 07-22-2009 05:30 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.