1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Installing Kenwood DDX512..... Need Help!!!

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by 12th Man, Jun 5, 2008.

1. Jun 5, 2008 at 4:43 PM
    12th Man

12th Man [OP] Member

Member:
    College Station, Tx
    Vehicle:
    '07 Texas Edition Prerunner
    I bought a Kenwood DDX512 Head unit, and ordered a silver Sosche dash kit. I was wondering 2 things.

1. How do I attach the HU to the dash kit?
    2. Where do I run the wire for the parking brake?

I'm kind of new to this, so ANY help whatsoever will be greatly appreciated

2. Jun 5, 2008 at 6:23 PM
    06TRDbama

06TRDbama Well-Known Member

Member:
    Maryville, TN
    Vehicle:
    06 Prerunner TRD Sport
    if you mean the parking break wire for watching movies, just attach it to the same wire that you ground the unit to. this worked like a charm for my eclipse avn5435, and i could watch movies while driving with ease.

to attach to the dash kit, just use the two black plastic tabs that stick into the rear of the dash kit. line up screw holes in the side of the kenwood unit with the slots in the black plastic tabs, and attach with the screws..

3. Jun 5, 2008 at 10:17 PM
    12th Man

12th Man [OP] Member

Member:
    College Station, Tx
    Vehicle:
    So I just hook the wire for the parking brake up to the black ground wire on the harness?

That's what I thought. The only thing that puzzles me is that the screen came with a metal mounting sleeve. The HU itself has holes for screws on the sides, but the sleeve has no holes on it. Do I just mount it w/o the sleeve?

4. Jun 6, 2008 at 8:03 AM
    06TRDbama

Member: