1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Does this sound like a good setup?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Alderleet, Nov 4, 2011.

1. Nov 4, 2011 at 9:38 AM
    Alderleet

Alderleet [OP] Ace of Spades

Member:
    First Name:
    Nick
    Salty Hell
    Vehicle:
    '00 Acc Cab TRD 4x4
    Well, im looking to upgrade the existing sound system in my 2000 tacoma, especially since the right passenger door speaker is toast.

I'm a mechanical engineer at heart, so engine/drivetrain/general mechanical stuff is my niche'

However, i'm electronically inept. So I went to a well known local car audio shop here in utah. (The HiFi shop, in ogden, utah)

I sat down and talked with a sales rep, he showed me a variety of options, and gave me what he feels would be the best setup for my xtra cab tacoma. (he doesnt recommend sunken subs in the cubbies below the rear jump seats, since the sound from the last one they did was not as good as he wanted) (the customer was happy though)

So this is the setup he laid out and the costs:

Alpine CDE-123 Head unit - $185
    Deck install - $35
    Vehicle specific dash - $16.95
    Tacoma wiring harness - $11.99
    Rockford P1653 09' style Speakers - $190
    Front and rear install - $70
    Rockford t400-4 Multichannel Amp - $325
    4ch Amp install - $80
    4 Guage amplifier Sound Quest Kit - $55
    RCA Cable - $10
    Apline Type-R 8" prebuilt Sub - $250
    Shop supplies 10% labor - $6

Including tax, it'll run me $1319.53

Does this sound like a decent deal, or am I getting wool pulled over my eyes?

2. Nov 4, 2011 at 9:45 AM
    bendbolden

bendbolden Come and take them.