Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Detailing

Notices

DA pads. What size?

Old 12-13-2012, 08:09 PM   #1
spiralout462 is on a distinguished road

spiralout462's Tacoma Gallery
DA pads. What size?

I'm shopping for a polisher and pads. Everyone says pad choice is a matter of personal preference. So what is your preference? CCS or flat? 5.5", 6.5", or 7.5"? Or maybe even 4"? I'm new to machine polishing so any suggestions would be helpful. Thank you in advance.
Old 12-14-2012, 06:10 AM   #2
wmb67 is just really nicewmb67 is just really nicewmb67 is just really nicewmb67 is just really nice
wmb67's Tacoma Gallery
Smile

I use the 5.5" ccs pads with good results on my Porter Cable DA.
I also purchased a 3" backing plate and 4" pads for smaller and harder to reach areas.

I like the ccs pads, but I'm sure the flat or hexlogic ones are fine also.

Check out the forums @ autopia.org or detailingworld.com for tons of great info and helpful members(i have no affiliation other than being a member).

Just remember to use the least aggressive pad/polish to begin... increasing the aggressiveness(?) as paint condition/results require.

Learning how to polish and properly maintain paint finishes was one of the best things I've done for my OCD .

My old 2000 Black Sand Pearl looked fantastic and now my 2009 Magnetic Gray Metallic still looks better than the day the dealer delivered it to me 3 years ago.

Old 12-14-2012, 08:26 AM   #3