1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

I have a gift card for Sears - welder - Craftsman Brand a good brand?

Discussion in 'Garage / Workshop' started by packfan88, Oct 27, 2011.

1. Oct 27, 2011 at 4:22 PM
    packfan88

packfan88 [OP] Very Nice !

Member:
    Acworth, GA
    Billy Lift, Cooper STT Pro, Westin Step bars, tinted, rain gaurds, EBC rotors hawk pads
    I have a give card for Sears and was thinking of buying a welder. I have no experience and would prolly just be welding things like small gauge steel and some tubing. Around the shop kinda stuff. Seeing is how Craftsman products arent like they were back like 1980s, some of their stuff is still top notch (other stuff chinese junk).

I am looking into a class at the vocational school to see if i can take a beginners course or something.

In the mean time, I am looking at getting a welder. Seeing is how I have a gift card that I can use towards the purchase of one, why not right? Does anyone have any of the Craftsman brand welders?

I was looking at this one.
    http://www.craftsman.com/shc/s/p_10...&sName=Welding&prdNo=1&blockNo=1&blockType=L1

Does anyone have any input on this model? Any reason why this is not the right type of welder (instead look at their wire feed, mig, arc, ect)? Im still clueless cause of things like the gas and gasless.

people have mentions gettign one that uses 22v rather than 110v cause its better. Any info as to the truth of that and WHY its better?

You know how it goes, gotta start some where. Do you guy think this is a good place to start and if not, does Sears have any better options?