Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Garage / Workshop

Notices

My ongoing project thread

Old 01-06-2013, 10:05 AM   #1
DLAV is on a distinguished road
Name: Denis
DLAV's Tacoma Gallery
My ongoing project thread

Well I have big plans to build all my furniture for our house. We got married roughly a year ago, and we are using all hand me down stuff we collected from friends and family throughout our university years. I am going to use this thread to dump pictures and ask for advice on design and function. My dad has been a General Contractor for the past 30+ years so I grew up around tools. I went to University to become an Industrial Arts teacher. I finished my degree but didn't step foot in the classroom, mostly because I was 22 and single at the time and I didn't feel mature or ready enough to settle down in a lifelong career.

I have been installing cabinets for the last 5 years and I really enjoy woodworking in my spare time. I recently started installing for a smaller shop. I am the only installer and there are only about 8 people that work in the shop. The owner of the company allows me to buy anything at his cost and use anything in his shop. Including the spray booth. When I'm not out on an install I set up in the shop and work there during the day. I am still working on the first project there but I have done a few more set up on the gravel driveway at my parents place.

I am open to any comments or suggestions. Just be nice
Old 01-06-2013, 10:10 AM   #2
DLAV's Tacoma Gallery

This is the first picture that I thought of taking. Sorry no earlier ones. I saw a picture of this online and I built it off the top of my head with no plans. I used Cherry wood.

Close up of the wine rack. I notched each piece with multiple passes on the mitre saw so that they all interlock

Drying in the stain booth. I decided to go with a clear laquer and let the cherry age and colour naturally.

Doors, drawers, etc...
Old 01-06-2013, 10:11 AM   #3
DLAV's Tacoma Gallery