Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Garage / Workshop

Notices

reverse osmosis

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2009, 01:04 PM   #1
jasonh [OP] jasonh is offline
tossed salad anyone?
jasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nice
 
jasonh's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3602
Location: Dallas, TX.
Age: 36
Gender: Male
Posts: 481
jasonh's Tacoma Gallery
reverse osmosis

has anyone installed one of these systems before? i was reading my instruction guide last night and it was saying something about testing my water preasure. how do you test your sinks water preasure? any advice on installing this thing would be great. thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 01:22 PM   #2
My hair is all natural
lsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
lsocoee's Avatar
Name: Hotdog
Joined: Feb 2007, #872
Posts: 10,098
lsocoee's Tacoma Gallery
you can test it using one of these guys

http://www.amazon.com/Orbit-Sprinkle...K8H1AABAW7SBZ1
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 01:26 PM   #3
AKA: Jake the Wolf
kristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant future
 
kristopherl's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2007, #2669
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 41
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,789
kristopherl's Tacoma Gallery
there is actually a calculator based on having 2 faucets open and how many gallons of water you can fill in a given amount of time... I had to do this when I put in my water softener.

FYI.. My dad had an RO unit forever. I grew up with it. Loved how clean the water tasted (or didn't taste ). I have recently heard that it isnt' good to have one because the water is so clean and free of minerals that it take minerals out of your body that you need. Now I haven't looked into it but I have just heard that.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 01:30 PM   #4
AKA: Jake the Wolf
kristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant future
 
kristopherl's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2007, #2669
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 41
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,789
kristopherl's Tacoma Gallery
sorry that is for flow rate. my book says that if you call your local water department they can tell you what your pressure is for your location.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 01:32 PM   #5
There go my nipples again!
Dilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shedDilsky is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Dilsky's Avatar
Name: Shawn
Joined: Oct 2008, #10036
Location: Edmonton AB
Gender: Male
Posts: 605
Dilsky's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristopherl View Post
there is actually a calculator based on having 2 faucets open and how many gallons of water you can fill in a given amount of time... I had to do this when I put in my water softener.

FYI.. My dad had an RO unit forever. I grew up with it. Loved how clean the water tasted (or didn't taste ). I have recently heard that it isnt' good to have one because the water is so clean and free of minerals that it take minerals out of your body that you need. Now I haven't looked into it but I have just heard that.

From what I know this is completly true. Minerals naturally cling to water particles, if they aren't going in with the water they will adsorp them from your body!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 01:45 PM   #6
My hair is all natural
lsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shedlsocoee is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
lsocoee's Avatar
Name: Hotdog
Joined: Feb 2007, #872
Posts: 10,098
lsocoee's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristopherl View Post
sorry that is for flow rate. my book says that if you call your local water department they can tell you what your pressure is for your location.
They might be able to guess, but I wouldn't trust what they tell you. There are a lot of variables in your home plumbing that could affect your water pressure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2009, 01:50 PM   #7
AKA: Jake the Wolf
kristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant futurekristopherl has a brilliant future
 
kristopherl's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2007, #2669
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Age: 41
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,789
kristopherl's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsocoee View Post
They might be able to guess, but I wouldn't trust what they tell you. There are a lot of variables in your home plumbing that could affect your water pressure.
agreed. I was thinking the same thing as I typed it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
sonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nice
 
sonjay's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2008, #9834
Location: Vancouver Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 701
sonjay's Tacoma Gallery
To get the most accurate reading you would want to put a pressure gauge on your main line into the house, most likely where your hot water tank gets it's water from.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:26 AM   #10
Senior Member
sonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nice
 
sonjay's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2008, #9834
Location: Vancouver Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 701
sonjay's Tacoma Gallery
I don't think it should much, unless there are restrictors like in the shower head. The pressure in from the main should be the same as the pressure out of your tap. Where are you going to install the RO filter? At the kitchen sink? You could try and get a pressure reading at the sink? You would probably have to do some plumbing. I only mentioned the hot water tank because they usually have some sort of pipe fittings on them and would be fairly easy to attach a pressure gauge to?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:29 AM   #11
abides.
Brunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shedBrunes is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Brunes's Avatar
Coast Guard: LT- CG MH-65C/D Driver- CGAS NOLA
Name: Mark
Joined: May 2008, #7011
Location: Big Easy, USA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 17,705
Brunes's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Brunes
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonjay View Post
I don't think it should much, unless there are restrictors like in the shower head. The pressure in from the main should be the same as the pressure out of your tap. Where are you going to install the RO filter? At the kitchen sink? You could try and get a pressure reading at the sink? You would probably have to do some plumbing. I only mentioned the hot water tank because they usually have some sort of pipe fittings on them and would be fairly easy to attach a pressure gauge to?
Fair enuf- didn't really think about where the RO was going...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:34 AM   #12
jasonh [OP] jasonh is offline
tossed salad anyone?
jasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nice
 
jasonh's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3602
Location: Dallas, TX.
Age: 36
Gender: Male
Posts: 481
jasonh's Tacoma Gallery
yeah i plan on putting it under the kitchen sink. i have one of those fancy facets so hooking one of those gauges up wouldnt be impossible.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:46 AM   #13
mall crawlin', web wheelin', concrete cowboy
FlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shedFlawedXJ is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
FlawedXJ's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Oct 2008, #10334
Location: NorAla
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,039
FlawedXJ's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsocoee View Post
you can test it using one of these guys

http://www.amazon.com/Orbit-Sprinkle...K8H1AABAW7SBZ1

x2.

If your still not sure call a home inspector. I worked with a home inspection company for a while and thats how we tested water pressure. Expect anywhere between 40-100 psi. Ideally you want 80ish psi water pressure. 60 is fine too though. Anything below sucks and anything about 100 or more can cause really bad problems. I was at a house once that had about 140 psi water pressure and you could hear the pipes shaking inside the walls everytime a sink or hose was turned on.

edit: you can get that part at walmart or any home improvement store such as lowes or homedepot.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 01:14 PM   #14
jasonh [OP] jasonh is offline
tossed salad anyone?
jasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nice
 
jasonh's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3602
Location: Dallas, TX.
Age: 36
Gender: Male
Posts: 481
jasonh's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks guys. I'll let you know how the install goes. my wife is always saying pay someone to do it. f that i am do it your self kinda guy lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 10:33 AM   #15
Senior Member
sonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nice
 
sonjay's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2008, #9834
Location: Vancouver Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 701
sonjay's Tacoma Gallery
Under your sink there should be a hose connecting a hard (copper) line to your faucet? The fitting on your faucet is probably a standard garden hose fitting, if so you should be able to rig something up from your local plumbing store to get a pressure reading. Tell them what your trying to do, and they should be able to help. Just out of curiosity, why do you need a pressure reading for a RO system? Do they want a certain pressure? Or do they want under a certain pressure, say under 60psi?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 05:08 PM   #16
With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine.
chris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
chris4x4's Avatar
Name: FlimFlubberJAM
Joined: May 2008, #6497
Location: Tenoe, AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 95,941
chris4x4's Tacoma Gallery
I installed mine. It pretty straight forward.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 06:24 PM   #17
I am the Sofa King
harshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shedharshest is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
harshest's Avatar
Joined: Aug 2008, #8508
Location: Michigan
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 567
harshest's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris4x4 View Post
I installed mine. It pretty straight forward.
+1, Mine was on a well system with no problems so if you have city pressure you should have enough pressure
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 05:46 AM   #18
jasonh [OP] jasonh is offline
tossed salad anyone?
jasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nicejasonh is just really nice
 
jasonh's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2007, #3602
Location: Dallas, TX.
Age: 36
Gender: Male
Posts: 481
jasonh's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonjay View Post
Under your sink there should be a hose connecting a hard (copper) line to your faucet? The fitting on your faucet is probably a standard garden hose fitting, if so you should be able to rig something up from your local plumbing store to get a pressure reading. Tell them what your trying to do, and they should be able to help. Just out of curiosity, why do you need a pressure reading for a RO system? Do they want a certain pressure? Or do they want under a certain pressure, say under 60psi?
well i was reading the instructions and it said to make sure to get a water pressure reading 24 hours before installing. it says it has to be atleast 60 psi and below 100psi. my boss was saying that i am on city water and that i shouldnt have to worry about it. plus we just moved in like 4 months ago and its a brand new house. should have the right water pressure right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:15 AM   #19
Senior Member
sonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nicesonjay is just really nice
 
sonjay's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2008, #9834
Location: Vancouver Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 701
sonjay's Tacoma Gallery
It should be fine, when you turn your shower on does it violently pelt you with beads of water? If your worried call your water company, they should be able to tell you what pressure is at the street. If nothing else they will be able to tell you the maximum pressure you will get. Around here city water is 60 psi.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squeak when in reverse! mikey1892sjr 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 02-09-2013 09:33 AM
Lost 5th and Reverse...shifter free floats where 5th and reverse should be troach 1st Gen. Tacomas 0 10-10-2011 12:29 PM
HELP!! can't go into reverse ryanringle Technical Chat 5 08-18-2010 10:51 PM
Sometimes hard to get in reverse JoeBama 2nd Gen. Tacomas 19 06-12-2010 08:01 AM
Reverse Osmosis water...Good or BAd..... chris4x4 Off-Topic Discussion 16 01-10-2010 11:07 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.