Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Garage / Workshop

Notices

Satoshi fiberglass kit help

Old 06-02-2010, 06:24 PM   #1
AZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shedAZtacoma05 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Colin
AZtacoma05's Tacoma Gallery
Unhappy Satoshi fiberglass kit help

So I've never used fiberglass before but I have used epoxies. I mixed the resin with hardener as exactly as I could and mixed it and everything seemed fine. I put some on the plastic where I was going to put the fiberglass then put the cut cloth piece into the resin as the directions said.. as i pushed it in the epoxy turned into a gel and got really hot like it does when its hardening but the directions said I had 12 to 15 min and this was only after about 1 min. It then turned solid in about a minute after i pushed the fiber piece into it. What did I do wrong?? too much hardener??

The wired thing was that it was like pushing the fiber piece into the epoxy sped up the reaction.. I still have half the bottle left (about 4 oz) so hopefully I still have enough.. any ideas??
Old 06-02-2010, 06:27 PM   #2
Mod'n on a Budget