Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Guns & Hunting

Notices

New to Hunting - Advice or good books you'd recommend?

Old 09-22-2013, 02:36 PM   #1
neverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shedneverstuck is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Matt
neverstuck's Tacoma Gallery
New to Hunting - Advice or good books you'd recommend?

As the title says, I'm new to hunting and aside from learning hands-on from an experienced hunter, I'm looking for good advice, literature, websites, etc for beginners. Specifically good instructional books.

I'm looking for the SAS Survival Handbook equivalent for hunting.

I am in BC, so advice specific to the North or Northwest would be best. Mountains, Coastal, colder climates)

I have a nice Savage 99 in a .284 and will be going after deer, elk, moose.

Thanks.
Old 09-22-2013, 03:38 PM   #2
DavidR is a name known to allDavidR is a name known to allDavidR is a name known to allDavidR is a name known to allDavidR is a name known to allDavidR is a name known to all
Name: David
DavidR's Tacoma Gallery
I am a whitetail hunter here in the northern tier of NY. I haven't read many hunting books, but I can recommend "Hunting Whitetails by the Moon" by Charles Alsheimer.
Old 09-22-2013, 03:55 PM   #3