Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Homebrewing

Notices

Temp Control For 3 Gallons.

Old 09-20-2013, 11:10 AM   #1
Runn0r has much to be proud ofRunn0r has much to be proud ofRunn0r has much to be proud ofRunn0r has much to be proud ofRunn0r has much to be proud ofRunn0r has much to be proud ofRunn0r has much to be proud ofRunn0r has much to be proud of

Runn0r's Tacoma Gallery
Temp Control For 3 Gallons.

I'm a noob home brewer, having only completed a Mr. Beer kit, but im looking into a 3 gallon carboy and soda keg, possibly a 2.5 gal secondary. Anyhow I was wondering if any of you guys brew small 3 Gallon batches and what your temperature control methods are?

Aside buying a small gutted fridge, I am contemplating the idea of building a wood frame....which will contain a 2-layer (blue foam) box to hold the carboy. Then, I would heat/cool the box with a peltier module on each side, one hot one cold, connected to a digital thermostat, that would cut them on/off to maintain perfect fermentation temp.

I was just curious as to what methods are used. I have seen 60 watt light bulbs etc.. I want to create the ideal environment.
Old 09-20-2013, 11:18 AM   #2
Boone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoone Taco is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Chris
Boone Taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runn0r View Post