1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Temp Control For 3 Gallons.

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Runn0r, Sep 20, 2013.

1. Sep 20, 2013 at 11:10 AM
    Runn0r

Runn0r [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunn0r
    I'm a noob home brewer, having only completed a Mr. Beer kit, but im looking into a 3 gallon carboy and soda keg, possibly a 2.5 gal secondary. Anyhow I was wondering if any of you guys brew small 3 Gallon batches and what your temperature control methods are?

Aside buying a small gutted fridge, I am contemplating the idea of building a wood frame....which will contain a 2-layer (blue foam) box to hold the carboy. Then, I would heat/cool the box with a peltier module on each side, one hot one cold, connected to a digital thermostat, that would cut them on/off to maintain perfect fermentation temp.

I was just curious as to what methods are used. I have seen 60 watt light bulbs etc.. I want to create the ideal environment.

2. Sep 20, 2013 at 11:18 AM
    Boone

Boone Vaginas are rad.

Member:
    First Name:
    Chris
    Boone, NC
    Vehicle:
    Airbags deployed
    like you have a pretty good idea on what you want to accomplish. May want to give Northern Brewer a look. They have some pretty quality stuff good prices and ship fast.
    http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/johnson-controls-a419-digital-temp-controller.html

3. Sep 21, 2013 at 7:12 PM
    Runn0r

Member:
    NC
    Vehicle:
    07 Prerunn0r
  4. Sep 21, 2013 at 10:18 PM
    Rich91710

Rich91710 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Rich
    Los Angeles
    Vehicle:
    08 Base