Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Jobs & Careers

Notices

Any MBA holders here?- worth it? or just a check in the box?

Old 02-08-2013, 09:50 AM   #1
thairannosaurus has a spectacular aura aboutthairannosaurus has a spectacular aura aboutthairannosaurus has a spectacular aura about
Army: Signal LT, 228 CSH (USAR)
Name: Anthony
thairannosaurus's Tacoma Gallery
Any MBA holders here?- worth it? or just a check in the box?

Hi all, so its time for me to consider grad school. The army reserve said they'll cover it but I'm conflicted as to which degree pathway I want to go. I graduated with a psych degree and a business minor. I had originally intended on following up with psychology but my dad (who owns a wholesale distributing business) has decided he really wants to retire and wants me to take over as the rest of my siblings are too young or too inexperienced with the family business. I'm not completely opposed to the idea as I've been working here on and off since I was 18 (25 now) and its given me a lot of the opportunities I've had but if I were to go this pathway, a masters in psych would be intrinsically pleasing but not very useful other than being able to "read minds" as everyone assumes all psych majors can do, Haha.

So with that back story, I'm contemplating getting an MBA down here in San antonio and that's when I'm hoping any current MBA holders can chime in: is it worth for an entrepreneur and not someone just trying to check a box so They can get promoted in their company? Will I actually learn useful advice/knowledge that I can apply or is it like my undergrad where it was a shotgun blast of info to the face and then you braindump it after a test? Please consider cost and money is not an issue (as most MBA holders have seen to be the biggest issue) as the army will be footing the majority of the bill. I just looking at this from a practical, "will I actually learn and use what I learn" perspective.