Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Off-Topic > Jobs & Careers

Notices

Career change after 40? Experiences?

Old 09-27-2013, 06:25 AM   #1
Old & Forgetful
Janster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shedJanster is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Jandy
Janster's Tacoma Gallery
Career change after 40? Experiences?

This could be 'I'm venting' thread or just a 'I'm nervous' thread looking for some folks who have gone thru a major career change after age 40...

I've been working for the same company for 19 years - factory work, concrete floors & steal toed shoes, shift work & working every other weekend. I've been a Machine Operator for 18 years and have been at the top of my game for many many years. And then...you get older and the weekend work & shift work has really been nagging at my life outside of work. They call it 'Quality of Work Life'. I've been thinking about a career change but scared to death about actually doing it.

I recently applied for a job internally with the same company. Entry level Accounting, desk job, No weekends, day shift.... I've had an interview last week (went well) and I have a 2nd (phone) interview on Monday. BIG pay cut but worth the 'time' I will gain and a regular lifestyle. It's a BILLER job writing invoices for the work that I've produced on the machinery - so they literally drool over people who are familiar with the manufacturing process and why I think I have half a chance.

Has anyone else gone thru a MAJOR career change after the age of 40?