1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Any geologists here? Looking for career advice

Discussion in 'Jobs & Careers' started by schwarthog, Jul 31, 2014.

1. Jul 31, 2014 at 6:44 PM
    schwarthog

schwarthog [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Ian
    Tacoma, WA
    Vehicle:
    2014 DCSB 4x4 TRD Offroad MGM
    Ultragauge, Weathertechs, Plasti-dip rims/grille surround, Access Tonneau
    I'm starting college at Westminster College in SLC, Utah this year and will be majoring in Geology. I'm an Army ROTC student, so I'll be in the army for at least 4 years afterwards, during which time I may be able to get my masters. I'm looking at jobs that will allow me to live in states like Utah, Montana, Idaho, or Wyoming, work out of doors, and still make enough money to afford my hobbies! (Truck, motorcycles, guns, etc).

My question to any geologists on here is what does your work consist of day-to-day, what the most lucrative fields are for geology, and any advice you might have. Thanks!

2. Jul 31, 2014 at 6:53 PM
    David K

David K Well-Known Member

Member:
    Pala Mesa, California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 4 Cree LED lamps Bilstein 5100s Ride Rite Air Bags
    I will be following this! I wanted to be a geologist first, then later a cartographer (map maker)... It all came from my travels as a kid in my parents Jeep in Baja and the desert.

I got diverted during junior college into irrigation, but drawing maps and collecting rocks has always been fun for me.

3. Jul 31, 2014 at 9:05 PM
    beyer075

beyer075 Rock Licker

Member:
    Northern Nevada