Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Stumped - 12V LEDs install

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2010, 06:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
BassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of light
 
BassMaster06's Avatar
Name: Dan
Joined: Aug 2010, #41558
Location: Delmarva
Age: 28
Gender: Guy
Posts: 588
BassMaster06's Tacoma Gallery
Stumped - 12V LEDs install


Alright, I've installed bed lights on a switch successfully so I figured I'd try my luck with a set of LED's to put inside the cab. I bought a set of blue LEDs very similar to the picture above at Advance Auto. I got home and opened up the package and checked out the wires.

I'm no electrician, but there is a small black wire coming from the module. At the end of it, it is cut with even smaller black wire and red wire inside. I stripped the two ends of these 2 wires and revealed the actual wire itself, which was 3 or 4 strands of "hair" like wire. STUMPED. How do I power these safely??? I figured somebody could help me out, I searched for a little bit but couldn't come up w/ anything similar to this. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
BassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of light
 
BassMaster06's Avatar
Name: Dan
Joined: Aug 2010, #41558
Location: Delmarva
Age: 28
Gender: Guy
Posts: 588
BassMaster06's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta_taco View Post
your in luck - i am an electrician lol i have installed those type of l.e.d's I have always soldered a new piece of wire to the small ends because there is not way you can use a crimp connector on that small gauge wire.
Man you've been helpin me out a lot lately...haha. What gauge of wire should I use? And do I need a resistor for these?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 06:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
BassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of light
 
BassMaster06's Avatar
Name: Dan
Joined: Aug 2010, #41558
Location: Delmarva
Age: 28
Gender: Guy
Posts: 588
BassMaster06's Tacoma Gallery
alright thanks man, and again i appreciate the help....i'll give it a try!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 07:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
BassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of light
 
BassMaster06's Avatar
Name: Dan
Joined: Aug 2010, #41558
Location: Delmarva
Age: 28
Gender: Guy
Posts: 588
BassMaster06's Tacoma Gallery
Out of curiosity, Why are the wires so small?!? It's alright to solder these tiny wires to 18 Ga wire? Idk, I tried to wire these up the other night, and it blew the 10A inline fuse up close to the battery...Im trying to figure out why, and I figured it was because I was connecting large wires to tiny wires. What would cause the inline fuse to blow? Maybe I wired it up wrong on the switch? Wrong size of inline fuse (10A)? Maybe a combination of mistakes?

Here is a diagram of how I wired them up.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:34 AM   #5
Senior Member
BassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of light
 
BassMaster06's Avatar
Name: Dan
Joined: Aug 2010, #41558
Location: Delmarva
Age: 28
Gender: Guy
Posts: 588
BassMaster06's Tacoma Gallery
Its an oznium illuminated switch, and I may have had it wired up wrong because i just guessed when i did it (dumb) cuz I didn't have a diagram. I found the switch diagram on the oznium website so I should be good to go there. I don't have a meter to check it. Is a 10A fuse alright to use as the inline fuse?? Or should I go higher or lower? Thanks for bearing with me and my poor knowledge on electrical stuff.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 10:52 AM   #6
Senior Member
BassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of light
 
BassMaster06's Avatar
Name: Dan
Joined: Aug 2010, #41558
Location: Delmarva
Age: 28
Gender: Guy
Posts: 588
BassMaster06's Tacoma Gallery
anybody? Trying to wire up 2 - 6 LED glow pads (12V). Using 18 Ga wire....What size inline fuze?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 10:51 PM   #7
Very nice how much?
Forster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shedForster46 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Forster46's Avatar
Firefighter: Firefighter/EMT
Name: Nick
Joined: Jul 2010, #40487
Location: Mount Vernon, WA
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,347
Forster46's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via MSN to Forster46
Looks correct to me. Although I am no electrician lol. My guess is maybe one of the wires inside where you stripped could possibly be touching, causing it to short. I had a problem similiar with a trailer I built. It kept blowing the fuse for my trucks running lights.

pissed me off...


If not then maybe the power wire could be touching a grounded piece of metal somewhere. I don't know much about diodes and resistors and all the mumbo jumbo.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To Install Switchback LEDs SlimDigg 1st Gen. Tacomas 13 06-13-2013 03:51 AM
12v in Center Console and Streamlight Install JeenyusSB 2nd Gen. Tacomas 15 02-19-2012 08:24 PM
Installing components and I'm stumped. LEX Audio & Video 9 09-30-2011 10:15 AM
Grom Ipod Interface, 12v pwr source, glove box light Install *pics* Taco-Jenn/FJ-Kyle Audio & Video 15 02-18-2010 06:24 AM
stumped dunkhi Audio & Video 5 11-28-2009 06:44 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.