Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Stumped - 12V LEDs install

Old 12-06-2010, 06:09 PM   #1
BassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of light

Name: Dan
BassMaster06's Tacoma Gallery
Stumped - 12V LEDs install

Alright, I've installed bed lights on a switch successfully so I figured I'd try my luck with a set of LED's to put inside the cab. I bought a set of blue LEDs very similar to the picture above at Advance Auto. I got home and opened up the package and checked out the wires.

I'm no electrician, but there is a small black wire coming from the module. At the end of it, it is cut with even smaller black wire and red wire inside. I stripped the two ends of these 2 wires and revealed the actual wire itself, which was 3 or 4 strands of "hair" like wire. STUMPED. How do I power these safely??? I figured somebody could help me out, I searched for a little bit but couldn't come up w/ anything similar to this. Thanks
Old 12-06-2010, 06:46 PM   #2
BassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of lightBassMaster06 is a glorious beacon of light

Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta_taco View Post
your in luck - i am an electrician lol i have installed those type of l.e.d's I have always soldered a new piece of wire to the small ends because there is not way you can use a crimp connector on that small gauge wire.
Man you've been helpin me out a lot lately...haha. What gauge of wire should I use? And do I need a resistor for these?
Old 12-06-2010, 06:56 PM   #3

alright thanks man, and again i appreciate the help....i'll give it a try!