Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

how many lights off one wire harness?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2011, 08:33 AM   #1
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
how many lights off one wire harness?

So I have my reverse lights all wired in the back off my truck, could I add 2 more lights to the same harness, so it would be 4 lights and one switch?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 06:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
scollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Scott
Joined: Dec 2010, #48145
Location: Renton WA
Gender: Male
Posts: 168
scollins's Tacoma Gallery
One switch should be fine, but my instructions for my VisionX lights say no more than 2 lights per relay. So I would run 2 relays for 4 lights, and have both relays controlled by one switch. Probably means not using your same harness for a majority of the install....
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 07:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
I have no experience with relays, I have 4 offroad lights and none have relays
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
scollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shedscollins is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Scott
Joined: Dec 2010, #48145
Location: Renton WA
Gender: Male
Posts: 168
scollins's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinkrider101 View Post
I have no experience with relays, I have 4 offroad lights and none have relays
Ah, I see. Well, as long as you wire the lights properly (parallel), and the gauge of the wire and the switch is sufficient to handle the current, I don't think it should be a problem.

What wattage are your lights? If I assume 35w each, you are running just shy of 3 amps at each light. With 4 lights in the circuit, you are looking at 12 amps through the wires and switch. Probably should be 10 gauge at a minimum, but as the length of the run increases, so should the gauge. If there lights at at the back, I'd probably want 8 gauge wires at least....


But I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn last night, so value my advice at what you paid for it.....
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanting to put aftermarket fog lights can I use existing wire harness Darren3504 Lighting 2 12-21-2012 10:20 PM
what wire harness is this?? canucklehead 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 09-08-2010 08:46 PM
Wire Harness ryrydtl Audio & Video 4 05-31-2010 10:12 AM
2009 Wire Harness will_dawg 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 09-20-2009 11:56 PM
Wire harness - what is it for? mmatheny 2nd Gen. Tacomas 22 08-31-2008 08:05 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.