Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

wiring expert help needed....

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2011, 04:34 PM   #1
NYCO [OP] NYCO is offline
‹^› ‹(ಠ_ಠ)› ‹^›
NYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NYCO's Avatar
Name: bOb
Joined: Jul 2010, #40842
Location: Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,918
NYCO's Tacoma Gallery
wiring expert help needed....

so i have a set of hella ff75's hooked up on my ARB...





...that is currently wired up to a switch in my cab...there was a different wiring option for them to come on with high beams...

so my question is, can i set up my lights some how where i can turn them on through a switch (like how they are currently where i can turn them on and off without any other lights on), then when the switch is off, the lights would turn on with my high beams?

would i have to set up a second switch? a relay? i'm no wiring wizard but i think this would be a sweet setup if i can get it to work...what do you think?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,042
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
So you want to be able to turn them on whenever you want and also come on every time your high beams are on? It's certainly feasible if that's what you mean... will have to think about it for a minute though...

Edit: I think you need something like this. Instead of an on/off/on rocker switch, you'd have an on/off switch and the third position would be triggered from the high beams. About 2/3 of the way down you can see how you would be able to do it with 2 relays.
http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lig...elay-help.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:45 PM   #3
Founder Socaltacomas.com
SocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shedSocalMan22 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
SocalMan22's Avatar
Name: Steve-0
Joined: Mar 2007, #1146
Location: So*Cal
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,223
SocalMan22's Tacoma Gallery
Well i can tell you my external hid's that i have up front run when i want them i can use them as my headlights lol so yes its possible, as far as me telling you how my buddy does my wiring.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
JLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
JLink's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2010, #36795
Location: Ocean, NJ
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,424
JLink's Tacoma Gallery
so you want the switch to be set up to do:
on- on
off- on with high beams

right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:47 PM   #5
NYCO [OP] NYCO is offline
‹^› ‹(ಠ_ಠ)› ‹^›
NYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NYCO's Avatar
Name: bOb
Joined: Jul 2010, #40842
Location: Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,918
NYCO's Tacoma Gallery
yea i'd like them to still have the option to come on any time (lights on or lights off i can still flip the switch and have them come on)...then when the switch is off, they would be set to come on whenever i put on my high beams....
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:47 PM   #6
NYCO [OP] NYCO is offline
‹^› ‹(ಠ_ಠ)› ‹^›
NYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NYCO's Avatar
Name: bOb
Joined: Jul 2010, #40842
Location: Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,918
NYCO's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLink View Post
so you want the switch to be set up to do:
on- on
off- on with high beams

right?

exactly
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
JLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
JLink's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2010, #36795
Location: Ocean, NJ
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,424
JLink's Tacoma Gallery
alright I figured it out. You need a relay and a switch with 3 terminals..
stand by.. i'm drawing a schematic and i'll take a pic then post it
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 04:54 PM   #8
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,042
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLink View Post
alright I figured it out. You need a relay and a switch with 3 terminals..
stand by.. i'm drawing a schematic and i'll take a pic then post it
Check out the thread I posted above, the diagrams are in that thread. Draw them up if you want, just trying to save you some work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:01 PM   #9
NYCO [OP] NYCO is offline
‹^› ‹(ಠ_ಠ)› ‹^›
NYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NYCO's Avatar
Name: bOb
Joined: Jul 2010, #40842
Location: Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,918
NYCO's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pugga View Post
Check out the thread I posted above, the diagrams are in that thread. Draw them up if you want, just trying to save you some work.

this diagram?

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:04 PM   #10
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,042
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYCO View Post
this diagram?

Yes, I'm thinking 2 relays, one where the switch power is the switch itself, the second where the switch power is a tap into the high beam power wire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:09 PM   #11
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,042
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
This website is helpful also.
http://www.mp3car.com/the-faq-empori...ire-it-up.html
-30 = constant [positive (+)] power (usually wired directly to car battery)
-85 = coil ground (wired to the negative (-) battery terminal or any grounded metal panel in the car)
-86 = coil power (wired to the control source. could be a switch, or it could be the car's IGN or ACC circuit.)
-87 = switched [positive (+)] power output. (when the relay coil is powered, lead/pin 87 is connected to lead/pin 30)

You'd use two of these standard 4-pin relays. The first would be the switch power is the switch itself, the second where the switch power is a tap into the high beam power wire. That website just simplifies the wiring diagrams.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:15 PM   #12
NYCO [OP] NYCO is offline
‹^› ‹(ಠ_ಠ)› ‹^›
NYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NYCO's Avatar
Name: bOb
Joined: Jul 2010, #40842
Location: Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,918
NYCO's Tacoma Gallery


i'll have to take a look at the current wiring to get a better grasp on the diagram, but i'm thinking there has to be a relay already in the circuit...

so i'd probably need a second relay and a new switch...the switch would have 3 positions, correct?

one position would activate the current relay drawing directly off the battery, while the second position would hit the relay that would use the second relay that i would have to set up where the lights go on with the high beams, then the third position would be off completely....

am i on the right track?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:17 PM   #13
Senior Member
JLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
JLink's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2010, #36795
Location: Ocean, NJ
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,424
JLink's Tacoma Gallery
heres what I came up with. only 1 relay

Not the most professional, but it should work.
with the switch in the current position, it will only power the lights when the hi beams are on. when in the up position it will power the lights on reguardless of anything else
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:20 PM   #14
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,042
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLink View Post
heres what I came up with. only 1 relay

Not the most professional, but it should work.
with the switch in the current position, it will only power the lights when the hi beams are on. when in the up position it will power the lights on reguardless of anything else
Pretty sure if you wire it that way the lights would ONLY come on if the switch AND the high beams are both ON. That's how my PIAA's are wired currently. Like I said, 2 relays...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:24 PM   #15
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,042
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYCO View Post


i'll have to take a look at the current wiring to get a better grasp on the diagram, but i'm thinking there has to be a relay already in the circuit...

so i'd probably need a second relay and a new switch...the switch would have 3 positions, correct?

one position would activate the current relay drawing directly off the battery, while the second position would hit the relay that would use the second relay that i would have to set up where the lights go on with the high beams, then the third position would be off completely....

am i on the right track?
You would need a second relay, but could keep the same switch. The way they're currently wired would remain the same (well, you'd be splicing some wires but the same function), all you're doing is adding a second way to power the lights that would work alongside the switch you have already. You'd wire the second relay the same as the first except the switch power would come from the high beam wire instead of a physical switch. I hope that makes sense, wiring is hard to describe through a forum like this...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:27 PM   #16
Senior Member
JLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shedJLink is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
JLink's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: May 2010, #36795
Location: Ocean, NJ
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,424
JLink's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pugga View Post
Pretty sure if you wire it that way the lights would ONLY come on if the switch AND the high beams are both ON. That's how my PIAA's are wired currently. Like I said, 2 relays...
I'm pretty sure it will work. the lights will get power from the relay when the hi beams are on, or they will get power from the battery when switched on.

only problem i see is that there is no way to turn them off if you have the hi beams on and dont want the lights on. without using a 3 position switch, which a 3 position switch would have 4 terminals i believe.. one for ground
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:33 PM   #17
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,042
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLink View Post
I'm pretty sure it will work. the lights will get power from the relay when the hi beams are on, or they will get power from the battery when switched on.

only problem i see is that there is no way to turn them off if you have the hi beams on and dont want the lights on. without using a 3 position switch, which a 3 position switch would have 4 terminals i believe.. one for ground
I disagree. You're wiring the high beam power wire to the coil power. If that wire is not powered, nothing will work. Most wire this to their ignition so when the truck turns off, you can't leave your lights on. Based on that, if you replace the ignition wire with the high beam wire, when the high beam wire is not on, there's no power to the coil and the lights will not work. Therefore, unless the high beams are on, the lights can not be on regardless of the external switched based on your diagram.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:15 PM   #18
NYCO [OP] NYCO is offline
‹^› ‹(ಠ_ಠ)› ‹^›
NYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NYCO's Avatar
Name: bOb
Joined: Jul 2010, #40842
Location: Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,918
NYCO's Tacoma Gallery
thanks for the input guys...i'll be giving it a go this weekend and let you know how it goes...i would be curious to see how the different techniques work...JLink's version would make for less wiring and it seems like the Pugga's 2 relay version would be a solid choice but with more wiring and head scratching on my end...

if anything else pops in your heads throw it up...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:35 PM   #19
Senior Member
joes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Joe
Joined: Jan 2010, #28588
Location: Central Coast, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,104
joes06tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
You are over complicating things. You need to replace the switch you have with a single-pole-double-throw switch. It will have three terminals on it. They are available in on-off-on, or on-on. Decide if you want the option of having them off no matter what also. If so, get the on-off-on. It will have a center detent so you can turn them off under all conditions.

The existing wire that you have going from the switch to your relay gets connected to the center terminal of the new switch. One of the other terminals gets connected to the existing power in wire you have on your existing switch. The remaining terminal goes to your high beam circuit. You may be able to tap this under the dash somewhere, not sure. May have to run another wire under the hood to the headlights.

Couple other things:

The switch you have now is probably lighted. If so, there is a ground wire connected to it that you will not use with the new switch. Here's why: You're going to have a hell of a time finding a new switch that will be lighted and do what you are asking. I have tried and failed. You can wire a seperate pilot light if you want. You would connect that to the center terminal of your switch where you connected the wire that goes to your relay. Also, ground the other side of the pilot light (use the existing ground that went to your lighted switch).

I would recommend that you install a fuse inline with the new wire you are going to connect to your high beams. That way, if your wiring was to short out, you won't lose your headlights, just the add on lights. This fuse only needs to be a 3 or 5 amp, it's just feeding the relay coil and maybe a pilot light on the dash.

Hope this helps.

Edit: Sorry, don't know how to do the fancy wiring diagrams or I would. I've done this several times now and I know it works. Currently have aux reverse lights on my Tacoma wired to an on-off-on switch. Up position is aux reverse lights only, center is off, down is on aux reverse lights on when truck is in reverse. For the up position on the switch, I tapped the parking light circuit. This way, my add on lights go off automatically when the truck turns off the headlights and parking lights to prevent killing the battery.

Everything I have written here assumes you have a relay already in your circuit. If not, you will need to do a bit more work. The factory high beam circuit will not handle the current of aux lights without a relay.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:53 PM   #20
NYCO [OP] NYCO is offline
‹^› ‹(ಠ_ಠ)› ‹^›
NYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shedNYCO is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NYCO's Avatar
Name: bOb
Joined: Jul 2010, #40842
Location: Colorado
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,918
NYCO's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by joes06tacoma View Post
You are over complicating things. You need to replace the switch you have with a single-pole-double-throw switch. It will have three terminals on it. They are available in on-off-on, or on-on. Decide if you want the option of having them off no matter what also. If so, get the on-off-on. It will have a center detent so you can turn them off under all conditions.

The existing wire that you have going from the switch to your relay gets connected to the center terminal of the new switch. One of the other terminals gets connected to the existing power in wire you have on your existing switch. The remaining terminal goes to your high beam circuit. You may be able to tap this under the dash somewhere, not sure. May have to run another wire under the hood to the headlights.

Couple other things:

The switch you have now is probably lighted. If so, there is a ground wire connected to it that you will not use with the new switch. Here's why: You're going to have a hell of a time finding a new switch that will be lighted and do what you are asking. I have tried and failed. You can wire a seperate pilot light if you want. You would connect that to the center terminal of your switch where you connected the wire that goes to your relay. Also, ground the other side of the pilot light (use the existing ground that went to your lighted switch).

I would recommend that you install a fuse inline with the new wire you are going to connect to your high beams. That way, if your wiring was to short out, you won't lose your headlights, just the add on lights. This fuse only needs to be a 3 or 5 amp, it's just feeding the relay coil and maybe a pilot light on the dash.

Hope this helps.

Edit: Sorry, don't know how to do the fancy wiring diagrams or I would. I've done this several times now and I know it works. Currently have aux reverse lights on my Tacoma wired to an on-off-on switch. Up position is aux reverse lights only, center is off, down is on aux reverse lights on when truck is in reverse. For the up position on the switch, I tapped the parking light circuit. This way, my add on lights go off automatically when the truck turns off the headlights and parking lights to prevent killing the battery.

Everything I have written here assumes you have a relay already in your circuit. If not, you will need to do a bit more work. The factory high beam circuit will not handle the current of aux lights without a relay.
hell yea...thanks man...good work on the reverse lights too...a future mod i been eying
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aftermarket wiring harness needed? joeyd71 Towing 9 12-29-2011 06:54 AM
expert opinion on steep cv angles needed especk Technical Chat 34 03-21-2011 06:32 PM
Wiring schematics needed jefferson 2nd Gen. Tacomas 13 05-26-2010 11:13 PM
eyelids for 2010's- expert advice needed skichiiwa 2nd Gen. Tacomas 5 09-21-2009 12:42 AM
Expert sound system help needed. BIGLuke Audio & Video 40 09-04-2009 05:50 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.