Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

wiring help! is this safe???

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-19-2011, 09:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
wiring help! is this safe???

I wired 3 lights together today, all 3 go into 1 wire wich leads to the switch, the a wire from the switch to the battery, is this safe? With no relay with all 14g wire
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:30 PM   #2
╒╪╕
MyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
MyToyTaco's Avatar
Name: Nick
Joined: Sep 2008, #9417
Location: port hooey noomy
Age: 31
Gender: Dude
Posts: 4,176
MyToyTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to MyToyTaco
it'll work.... for how long? this is the question...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
Will I need extra wire to wire it to a relay? Will that make it a ton safer
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 09:34 PM   #4
╒╪╕
MyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedMyToyTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
MyToyTaco's Avatar
Name: Nick
Joined: Sep 2008, #9417
Location: port hooey noomy
Age: 31
Gender: Dude
Posts: 4,176
MyToyTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to MyToyTaco
when i had my light bar i had all 4 lights on the front wired to 2 different switches. (2 lights on each switch)

no relay, fuses, etc. It worked fine all the way up until I took the light bar off

probably not the "right" way to do it, but like i said it should be fine (should)






(im not liable for any fires you may run into )




edit... i did have fuses between the switchs & the battery now that i think about it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:05 AM   #5
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
I'm going to add a relay today, will that make it a ton safer and no fires?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:31 AM   #6
"Man Ho"
2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
2010Tacoma4x4's Avatar
Name: Dave
Joined: Jan 2011, #49556
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Gender: Male
Posts: 599
2010Tacoma4x4's Tacoma Gallery
You should put an inline fuse on the power lead somewhere close to the battery. Depending on how much amperage your lights draw will let you know what size fuse to put in. That way if you have a dead short somewhere the wire won't burn which could potentially start a fire....you will just blow a fuse.
It is better to use a relay when running lights. You should only use the switch to toggle the relay open and closed. If your switch is capable of handling the amperage your drawing then you can get by without the relay.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:50 AM   #7
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
They are 55w lights thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:07 PM   #8
Mr SGA
MrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shedMrFastLayne is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
MrFastLayne's Avatar
Name: Layne
Joined: Dec 2010, #47182
Location: Lincoln Ca,
Age: 37
Gender: Male
Posts: 391
MrFastLayne's Tacoma Gallery
Use fuses!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
Would the fuse go from switch to battery?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:17 PM   #11
"Man Ho"
2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed2010Tacoma4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
2010Tacoma4x4's Avatar
Name: Dave
Joined: Jan 2011, #49556
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Gender: Male
Posts: 599
2010Tacoma4x4's Tacoma Gallery
You surely don't want your dash looking like that!!


With 3 55w bulbs you will be pulling about 13.75 amps. I would use a relay
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:23 PM   #12
Retrofit Club!
lookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shedlookylookitzadam is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
lookylookitzadam's Avatar
Name: Adam
Joined: Jul 2009, #19777
Location: San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 718
lookylookitzadam's Tacoma Gallery
are you set up like this:

battery------switch------light-light-light?

you really need to make sure that you switch can handle that many amps (min 15amps + you probably should have a factor of safety involved there).

Run a relay and fuse the +12v at the battery going to the relay
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:29 PM   #13
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
Will this fuse work?? I thout you use a inline fuse from the switch the battery?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:31 PM   #14
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
Yes its lightd to switch then switch to battery..i have the oznium switch
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:32 PM   #15
Bullwinkle J. Moose
bjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
bjmoose's Avatar
Name: Steve
Joined: Aug 2010, #42529
Location: San Jose CA
Gender: Guy
Posts: 5,003
bjmoose's Tacoma Gallery
Your switch needs to be rated for the amperage.

At 55w per light, 3 lights, you've got 165w / 12v = 13.75A.

As long as your switch is rated for that amperage at 12v, you don't need a relay or solenoid. That just adds complexity to the circuit.
EDIT: Here's a pretty typical switch from radioshack. Note that it's rated at 25A. So check your switch, but it's not hard to find a switch rated for that amperage. http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062534

Your circuit doesn't mention a fuse. You want a fuse inline, as close as practical to the battery. 15A, obviously, a 10A will blow immediately.

14g wire may be a little light for the job. Granted, in your house 14g solid runs all over the house on 15A circuits. But for stranded wire in an automotive application, you may want to go a little heavier. I googled up a chart here (there are lots of them, but this one actually shows percentage of power loss at given length, which makes it the most helpful, IMO)

http://www.windsun.com/Hardware/Wire_Table.htm

So 8 or 10 gauge is called for, depending on the length of your run, in order to keep power loss due to internal wire resistance at 5% or less.

Hope this helps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:35 PM   #16
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
Sweet thanks! Is this type i need http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3150583
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:39 PM   #17
Member
dkbigbuds is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2011, #52708
Location: so cal
Gender: Male
Posts: 57
dkbigbuds's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFastLayne View Post
Use fuses!
^^ i would cry... definately worth the extra hour to put in a fuse...i would recommend wire loom too, cant be to careful
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:40 PM   #18
Bullwinkle J. Moose
bjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shedbjmoose is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
bjmoose's Avatar
Name: Steve
Joined: Aug 2010, #42529
Location: San Jose CA
Gender: Guy
Posts: 5,003
bjmoose's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinkrider101 View Post
Yeah, I've used those.

How are you connecting your wires, BTW?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:54 PM   #19
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
I used male and female connectors so i could simply unplug it to remove my grill...i do have 2 lights going into 1 female connector though then that plugs into another female that goes to the switch
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:58 PM   #20
Senior Member
kinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shedkinkrider101 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2009, #23497
Location: santa barbara
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,707
kinkrider101's Tacoma Gallery
Im going to use thise relay...how do i connect the wires to it http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3020762
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this be safe................. saweetlou 1st Gen. Tacomas 12 01-28-2011 03:08 PM
wiring 3rd brake light on shell with flat 4 trailer wiring. rab89 Technical Chat 5 03-12-2010 02:43 AM
cant be safe??? paintdiddy General Automotive 2 01-29-2010 12:05 PM
06 Tacoma Speaker Harness Wiring/ LOC Wiring bcash9407 Audio & Video 2 05-08-2009 10:57 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.