Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Wanting to put aftermarket fog lights can I use existing wire harness

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2011, 10:24 AM   #1
Darren3504 [OP] Darren3504 is offline
Junior Member
Darren3504 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2011, #58299
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Darren3504's Tacoma Gallery
Wanting to put aftermarket fog lights can I use existing wire harness

I have a 2007 Tacoma and i have discovered that my truck has been prewired from factory for fog lights. All i need is a relay, switch, and the lights. Not wanting to pay toyota prices im thinking of buying aftermarket lights and if the existing wiring under my bumper for the fog lights doesnt fit the lights i buy using the plugs for the lights i buy and cutting of the existing plugs that were run for the fog lights and just splicing in the plugs for the new lights. Should work shouldnt it. Should just be a hot and neg right. Then get the factory switch and theres a place in my fuse box under the hood for the fog light relay. Anybody done this?Will it work? Advice welcomed
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 01:44 AM   #2
Lurker No More
caribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
caribe makaira's Avatar
Navy: CAG11 & VAW-117 AME2
Joined: Feb 2011, #51121
Location: Caribbean, Puerto Rico
Gender: Male
Posts: 419
caribe makaira's Tacoma Gallery
you are correct.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:20 PM   #3
Junior Member
gnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shedgnarcal is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Max
Joined: Oct 2012, #88097
Location: Washington State
Gender: Male
Posts: 29
gnarcal's Tacoma Gallery
Darren
Did your plan to add the relay, lights and factory switch work?
I'm trying to do the same thing right now but I'm getting frustrated.
Right now I am waiting for my 12v 30amp relay to be delivered.In the mean time I tried out a relay from the auto shop. It fits but I'm not sure of the voltage and amperage ratings. Nevertheless the system has yet to work. The first time I had it all connected there was a brief low intensity flash and then nothing. I am hoping its just an incorrect relay. My last resort will be to use the aftermarket wire harness provided with the fog light kit.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connectin Aftermarket HU wire harness mike686 Audio & Video 11 04-06-2011 03:22 AM
how many lights off one wire harness? kinkrider101 Lighting 3 01-26-2011 10:53 PM
Fog Lamp OEM Wire harness vg05 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 01-19-2010 05:28 PM
i can't put the wire harness back in the drivers side door! zero niner 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 07-15-2009 10:50 PM
Source for 05 Fog Light Wire Harness (besides dealer)? CaliforniaTaco 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 04-14-2009 09:47 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.