Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

wiring question

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2011, 07:01 PM   #1
mickyd9990 [OP] mickyd9990 is offline
Senior Member
mickyd9990 is a jewel in the roughmickyd9990 is a jewel in the roughmickyd9990 is a jewel in the rough
 
mickyd9990's Avatar
Name: marc
Joined: Oct 2009, #23677
Location: ri
Gender: Male
Posts: 294
mickyd9990's Tacoma Gallery
wiring question

just checking some info here..

im wiring two 55watt lights in the bed through a relay and switch.. each 55 watt lamp should pull about 4-5 amps correct??.. so will 16 or 18 ga wire be sufficeint?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 08:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
2000GTacoma's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2011, #50183
Location: Snow Hill NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,131
2000GTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
might want to go a little heavier than 16 gauge id prolly go with 14 but 16 at least
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 11:35 PM   #3
Junior Member
Linelock4 is on a distinguished road
Name: Jared
Joined: Jul 2011, #59616
Location: New Hampshire
Gender: Male
Posts: 13
Linelock4's Tacoma Gallery
I agree the 16 gauge is the minimum gauge you should use. If the run is going to be longer that 15 ft I would step up to 14 gauge. Don't forget the fuses. 15amp should do it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 03:00 AM   #4
mickyd9990 [OP] mickyd9990 is offline
Senior Member
mickyd9990 is a jewel in the roughmickyd9990 is a jewel in the roughmickyd9990 is a jewel in the rough
 
mickyd9990's Avatar
Name: marc
Joined: Oct 2009, #23677
Location: ri
Gender: Male
Posts: 294
mickyd9990's Tacoma Gallery
Awesome.. im gonna run a blue sea fuse block under the hood.. ok ill pick up the 14 ga to use on the hot side of the relay.. on the switches side should I use the 14 too?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 05:24 AM   #5
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,484
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickyd9990 View Post
Awesome.. im gonna run a blue sea fuse block under the hood.. ok ill pick up the 14 ga to use on the hot side of the relay.. on the switches side should I use the 14 too?
Depends on how you wire it, if the switches aren't actually powering the lights, just powering the relay to switch the lights on, then you don't need that heavy of a gauge for the switch. 16 or even 18 would most likely work for the switch. Does the switch have a light built in?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 05:31 AM   #6
mickyd9990 [OP] mickyd9990 is offline
Senior Member
mickyd9990 is a jewel in the roughmickyd9990 is a jewel in the roughmickyd9990 is a jewel in the rough
 
mickyd9990's Avatar
Name: marc
Joined: Oct 2009, #23677
Location: ri
Gender: Male
Posts: 294
mickyd9990's Tacoma Gallery
The switch I have is lighted.. led.. but the switch will only be completing the delay circuit so the lights will be powered thru the relay and not through the switch
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 09:23 PM   #7
Senior Member
2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
2000GTacoma's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2011, #50183
Location: Snow Hill NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,131
2000GTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickyd9990 View Post
The switch I have is lighted.. led.. but the switch will only be completing the delay circuit so the lights will be powered thru the relay and not through the switch
then 18 gauge would be perfectly fine powering a relay and a tiny led in the swith ive only got 20 gauge run to mine for that with a 3 amp fuse for the switched side of the relay
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Got a wiring question tacomathunder Audio & Video 19 09-30-2011 12:22 PM
AMP WIRING QUESTION protaz Audio & Video 6 01-17-2011 06:25 PM
Wiring question 1welder 1st Gen. Tacomas 5 08-31-2010 05:10 PM
Wiring question swopeti Audio & Video 0 08-31-2010 10:01 AM
Wiring Question O-Dubs Lighting 4 05-25-2009 09:14 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.