1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

#10 AWG THHN Wire for offroad lights?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by StaticFilter, Sep 4, 2011.

1. Sep 4, 2011 at 3:09 PM
    StaticFilter

StaticFilter [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Jason
    Cedar Hills, UT
    Vehicle:
    2008 Blue FJ Cruiser
    Lifted, N-Fab steps, Roof rack light bar, Grill guard, Volant Snorkel (not installed ye)
    I'm a commercial electrician and have access to a lot of leftover THHN #10 and #12 wire. Would this be an okay option for wiring 100W offroad lights?

2. Sep 5, 2011 at 11:15 AM
    StaticFilter

Member:
    First Name:
    Jason
    Cedar Hills, UT
    Vehicle:
    2008 Blue FJ Cruiser
    Lifted, N-Fab steps, Roof rack light bar, Grill guard, Volant Snorkel (not installed ye)
    I know #10 wire is plenty big, the only thing I'm not clear on is if 10 gauge THHN will be okay for a DC system, as we use it in AC systems

3. Sep 5, 2011 at 11:25 AM
    cummins6speed

cummins6speed Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    '05 4Runner Limited Edition
    Custom extended travel 2.5" King RR coilovers, 1.25" Camburg uniball uppers, homebuilt tube bumper
    It will work the same on DC as it does on AC. It won't be as flexible as most automotive wire that usually has more, finer strands

4. Sep 5, 2011 at 11:36 AM
    StaticFilter

Member:
    First Name:
    Jason
    Cedar Hills, UT
    Vehicle:
    2008 Blue FJ Cruiser
    That's where my concerns lie, the stranding of the wire. As you said DC wire usually has finer stranding, is it because of how direct current works/flows or just for flexibility?