Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

HID Fuse Over Heating

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2011, 09:11 PM   #1
mudthedoor [OP] mudthedoor is offline
Sconnie
mudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
mudthedoor's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Feb 2011, #50550
Location: Forestville, WI
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,198
mudthedoor's Tacoma Gallery
HID Fuse Over Heating

I converted my six hella 500's this last weekend and i noticed that the inline fuse from the battery now gets so hot i cant touch it. I used 55w hid kit and have all six lights on three different switches. what should i do?

eye candy:
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 09:16 PM   #2
Save a horse ride a Railroader
Catcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to behold
Air Force: C-17 Loadmaster 2300 hrs
Name: Bryan
Joined: May 2011, #56529
Location: NW Oregon
Gender: Dude
Posts: 534
Catcrazed's Tacoma Gallery
Did you wire in relays? check all your wires sounds like you have a short, bad ground, or used to small of wire. Did you run one power wire or 3?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 10:05 PM   #3
DDD DDD is offline
Shine bright like a hymen
DDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
DDD's Avatar
Name: Derek
Joined: Mar 2009, #14416
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Age: 92
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,106
DDD's Tacoma Gallery
What amp fuse did you use? Most fuses will blow before they get that hot.

What gauge wiring did you use? Each pair of 55W lights will draw 10 amps or more. So each pair of lights should be wired with a minimum of 12 gauge wire.

If you have all 6 55W lights on 1 wire you are running 330W which is 27 amps! Thats a lot. You will need at least a 10 gauge wire or larger.

Remember, the longer the wire the larger gauge. For example, if you are running 27 amps for more than 10 feet you need 8 gauge wire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 10:16 PM   #4
mudthedoor [OP] mudthedoor is offline
Sconnie
mudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
mudthedoor's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Feb 2011, #50550
Location: Forestville, WI
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,198
mudthedoor's Tacoma Gallery
wow lol i currently have 18 gauge wire from battery to my relay, with a 15 amp fuse. I bought some heavyduty in line fuses with 15 amp fuses and some new 14 guage wire, to rewire between the relay and the battery. Going to the lights i have 16 guage wire should i re do that too? it doesn't get hot at all just the wire between the batt and relay does...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 10:17 PM   #5
mudthedoor [OP] mudthedoor is offline
Sconnie
mudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
mudthedoor's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Feb 2011, #50550
Location: Forestville, WI
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,198
mudthedoor's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catcrazed View Post
Did you wire in relays? check all your wires sounds like you have a short, bad ground, or used to small of wire. Did you run one power wire or 3?
I ran 3. one for each pair of lights...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 10:29 PM   #6
DDD DDD is offline
Shine bright like a hymen
DDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
DDD's Avatar
Name: Derek
Joined: Mar 2009, #14416
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Age: 92
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,106
DDD's Tacoma Gallery
So all 6 lights are powered from one 18 gauge wire and 1 15 amp fuse? Thats not good, the wire will melt if the fuse does not blow.

You should run a separate relay for every 2 55W lights. And use 12 gauge wire and a 15 amp relay for every 2 lights.

If you want to run 1 wire from the battery to the relays I would use a 8 gauge wire and a 30 amp fuse on that one wire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 09:38 AM   #7
Save a horse ride a Railroader
Catcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to beholdCatcrazed is a splendid one to behold
Air Force: C-17 Loadmaster 2300 hrs
Name: Bryan
Joined: May 2011, #56529
Location: NW Oregon
Gender: Dude
Posts: 534
Catcrazed's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudthedoor View Post
I ran 3. one for each pair of lights...
I cant believe the fuse isnt blowing. But you have 3 relays I would start by running the larger power wire to each relay make sure you fuse holder/wire is larger as well. Going from 12 ga wire to 18 ga fuse holder isnt gunna do you much. So start there and see if that solves your problem but i have a feeling you mite have to run larger wire to the lights as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 08:58 PM   #8
mudthedoor [OP] mudthedoor is offline
Sconnie
mudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
mudthedoor's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Feb 2011, #50550
Location: Forestville, WI
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,198
mudthedoor's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catcrazed View Post
I cant believe the fuse isnt blowing. But you have 3 relays I would start by running the larger power wire to each relay make sure you fuse holder/wire is larger as well. Going from 12 ga wire to 18 ga fuse holder isnt gunna do you much. So start there and see if that solves your problem but i have a feeling you mite have to run larger wire to the lights as well.
I bought 12 guage wire and heavyduty fuse holders that have 10 guage wire going to them. im gonna wire them up tomorrow\
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 09:00 PM   #9
mudthedoor [OP] mudthedoor is offline
Sconnie
mudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shedmudthedoor is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
mudthedoor's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Feb 2011, #50550
Location: Forestville, WI
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,198
mudthedoor's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by db View Post
So all 6 lights are powered from one 18 gauge wire and 1 15 amp fuse? Thats not good, the wire will melt if the fuse does not blow.

You should run a separate relay for every 2 55W lights. And use 12 gauge wire and a 15 amp relay for every 2 lights.

If you want to run 1 wire from the battery to the relays I would use a 8 gauge wire and a 30 amp fuse on that one wire.
no i have exactly what you described except the wire is 18 gauge now all three pairs of lights have their own wire and fuse...
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HID foglights blew a fuse. Help. Lexxx_2011 Lighting 4 02-21-2012 09:48 AM
Blown AM1 fuse in under hood fuse box Gameload1187 Technical Chat 2 01-02-2012 08:57 AM
Wts: blue sea fuse block, fuse, metal holder sierrahsky Buy / Sell / Trade 21 09-27-2011 09:09 AM
What is the fuse label called for the compass and temp fuse? maddy1009 2nd Gen. Tacomas 5 08-04-2010 08:56 AM
add-a-fuse/fuse tap bill-e-boy Lighting 4 01-17-2010 03:37 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.