Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

LED ground lighting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-17-2011, 03:26 AM   #1
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
LED ground lighting

I recently bought my new Tacoma. I have a new blank canvas. I wanted to add some LED's to light the ground at night. The lights should only turn on when the door opens, so I figure I could wire to door switch but I am unsure how to proceed. Have there been any past posts similar to this? Also how hard is this to do. Any advice is helpful.

OPI
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 03:35 AM   #2
THE OLD TACO721 with a new name.
TnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
TnRedNeck721's Avatar
Name: Zach
Joined: Mar 2011, #52731
Location: TN
Gender: Male
Posts: 17,741
TnRedNeck721's Tacoma Gallery
welcome! and for you’r ?? i don’t what you could do. hope fully another member will come by and answer it for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 03:45 AM   #3
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
Thx for the welcome.....
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 04:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
Boerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shedBoerseun is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Boerseun's Avatar
Army: (South Africa) Mechanized Infantry. 1 SAI Btn
Name: Ferdie
Joined: Jul 2011, #60538
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Age: 43
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,278
Boerseun's Tacoma Gallery
Welcome.
Thanks for asking the question because I want to do the same thing. I know I have to tie it in to the cab lights, but not sure how or where to intercept the wires. I would guess somewhere at the fuse box would be a good place to start to trace the wire. Let's see if someone else has any ideas.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 04:58 AM   #5
THE OLD TACO721 with a new name.
TnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shedTnRedNeck721 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
TnRedNeck721's Avatar
Name: Zach
Joined: Mar 2011, #52731
Location: TN
Gender: Male
Posts: 17,741
TnRedNeck721's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opihiman10 View Post
Thx for the welcome.....
NP! and you will should lots more. you can also post who you are and stuff here. http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/new-members/
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 08:56 AM   #6
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
Someplace to start research.

http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=117369
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 09:25 AM   #7
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
Even though it's for a camry
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 09:37 AM   #8
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
If it's true u cud tap in at door pin switch, wat total voltage shud u stay below, and how wud u run wires from from under cab to switch? Any takers?


OPI
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 09:50 AM   #10
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
Yes it wud look sone thing like that ( btw nice truck ). However the lights wud only come on with the door being openned. And only the light under that particular door.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:20 PM   #12
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
@ Drunknsloth

LOL...Thanks...But as always I jumped the gun and started ordering parts before fully thinking about the mod first....I ussually end up with a bunch of stuff that doesnt work for the app ... I have 4 flexible self stick LED strips. on the way.

I have a question about one step of your mod... The step listed is where you pass the wire into the cab.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by caribe makaira View Post
The rubber grommet you are "bypassing" is sealing and protecting that wire bundle. The LED wire you are inserting will, in time, fail. You are not protecting it from chaffing and such. See the small grommet to the left, it's a plug, remove and drill a hole in the center of it to pass that red wire, making the plug functional.

another user suggested using the plug for a grommet....I was wondering where the plug is located....

thanks for the HELP

OPI
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:24 PM   #13
Indffrnce will be the fall of manknd but who cares
Drunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shedDrunknsloth is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Drunknsloth's Avatar
Name: Retribution
Joined: Jun 2010, #39105
Location: South West
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,196
Drunknsloth's Tacoma Gallery
No problem, if you need any help with the wiring just send me a pm.

The grommet is shown in this picture just down and to the right a little bit from where it shows that I originally passed the wire through. It is the little black circle right up against the chassis. You can pop it out easily and poke a small hole in. Then just push the wire through and seal it with silicone after you are done connecting the wires. I would recommend Solid Strand Wires for this, as it is easier to push through areas like these, as oppose to Multiple-Stranded Wires.

  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:37 PM   #14
SCUMBAG CUSTOMS
Scummy will become famous soon enough
 
Scummy's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Apr 2011, #54334
Location: Phelan, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 165
Scummy's Tacoma Gallery
Try looking up how those drop steps work when the door is opened. if you can get ahold of the switch and relay system that allows them to work i believe to can wire up the lights with it
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 06:53 PM   #15
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scummy View Post
Try looking up how those drop steps work when the door is opened. if you can get ahold of the switch and relay system that allows them to work i believe to can wire up the lights with it

Thanks .... I never thought about that.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 07:39 PM   #16
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks to Scummy I went to a "AMP Research" and looked up their "power step"
Found installation instructions for their kit.

http://www.electricstep.com/eshop/pc...Kit-35p140.htm

As part of their Kit there is an LED Light (Steps 28 through 31).

Now if my assumption is right. There is already a wire harness with these wires there and I should be able to tap directly into those without problems...

ANY OPINIONS

OPI
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 11:28 AM   #17
SCUMBAG CUSTOMS
Scummy will become famous soon enough
 
Scummy's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Apr 2011, #54334
Location: Phelan, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 165
Scummy's Tacoma Gallery
Glad I could help you out
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 12:53 AM   #18
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
I was wondering if anyone had installed some of those illuminated sill guards. If so I was wondering what wires those tapped into ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 02:31 AM   #19
Opihiman10 [OP] Opihiman10 is offline
Member
Opihiman10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2011, #65329
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
Opihiman10's Tacoma Gallery
Found this in for a lexus...to install a illuminated sill plate

I just installed mine yesterday... here's how I did it:

I taped into the foot well light for the ground on both sides as I wanted the fade effect.

Didn't use wire taps, they are subject to intermittent condition and can actually sever the wire as the wires used are very small (24 - 26 ga). I soldered directly to these wires about an inch back from the connectors:

RED wire at the footwell light connector (both sides)
WHITE wire at the existing connector at the harness beneath your existing sil plate.

Used 22ga wire for the jumper, strip back about 1/4 inch of insulation with an exacto knife about an inch back from the connectors (after gaining access of course, the close out panels just pull right off, the drivers side has two screws that have to be removed, there obvious). Soldier your jumper wire to the footwell light connector RED wire first, re-insulate with tape(black electrical), use some wire loom covering(that black tubing with the slit running the length of it) and route to the door sil harness. Use same method to attach the other end of your jumper to the WHITE wire at the existing door sil connector. You do not cut any wires, just strip back enough insulation to soldier your jumper to it.

take your time cutting the existing tape wrapping the harness and striping the wires, you should not have a problem if you are careful. After making the footwell connection take not to short the jumper when you are routing it back to the sil connector as it will now be your floating ground so will have a positive potential(voltage signal).

Hope this helps... btw i did this on my 2006 350.

Good luck friend.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 03:10 AM   #20
Senior Member
maconhurler is a glorious beacon of lightmaconhurler is a glorious beacon of lightmaconhurler is a glorious beacon of lightmaconhurler is a glorious beacon of lightmaconhurler is a glorious beacon of light
 
maconhurler's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2009, #24793
Location: Harrisonburg, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 109
maconhurler's Tacoma Gallery
I've done this, took some work, but works well. Won't have time to take and post pics today, but I'll try to get some for tomorrow.

Tapped into the dome light by running wires in the roof of cab--lights come on with door opened, switch on, or by pressing unlock on keyfob.

Used http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lig...ry-lights.html as my starting point.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attn: LED Lighting Enthusiasts - Please Rate Your LED Lights!!! flyzeye designs Product Reviews 6 10-12-2011 11:21 AM
White LED Strips from AutoMatCentral.com used as ground lighting yotaluver Product Reviews 5 07-12-2011 05:21 PM
LED Dome lighting cdikkers Lighting 9 04-09-2010 02:09 PM
All LED Lighting tacomathunder Lighting 4 02-07-2010 06:16 PM
LED interior lighting RelentlessTaco 2nd Gen. Tacomas 7 04-24-2008 05:51 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.