Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Hella HID conversion problem

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2011, 04:43 PM   #1
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
Hella HID conversion problem

Hey everyone.

So pretty much i was doing the hid Conversion for the hella's like this:

- http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lig...onversion.html

i got the new hid bulbs in the lamps, and all sealed up with silicone and tested the lamps off the batery and they both work.

The problem is when i wired them to my switch i keep blowing a fuse that goes to the relay. Now the hellas are wired with 16 guage (thats what came with the wiring harness for the hellas), and the hid conversion kit has 14 guage.

So do i just get a larger amp fuse for the relay? or should i change up the whole wiring to 14 guage?


The hellas worked fine before i did the conversion so grounding i dont believe is an issue.

IF it helps i got these hids
http://www.ebay.com/itm/260809489018...S:1123&vxp=mtr

Thanks for the help!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 05:00 PM   #2
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
dont know if it helps but the fuse that blew was a 2 amp? seems kinda low, but it was working before

also there hella 500ff (the one with the 55w bulb)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 05:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,847
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
The fuse that is between the battery and the ballast blew? If so, yes a 2 and is WAY too small. Those ballasts probably draw about 5-6A each at start up. You will most likely need a 15A fuse and ideally you want 14AWG wire
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 05:09 PM   #4
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
i have 3 fuses

one between the batery and the fues

one for the switch

and one from the relay to the lights

the one from the relay to the lights blew
sorry for not being clear

still 2 small i am assuming though. should i change the wire?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 05:31 PM   #5
Senior Member
David K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
David K's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2009, #18969
Location: San Marcos, Alta California
Age: 57
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,255
David K's Tacoma Gallery
Halogens run straight power, HID have a high voltage startup and ballast. Only 35 watts once running, but the start up takes more... 15-20 amps in normal fuse size for off road lighting.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 05:42 PM   #6
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
Ill change the fuse to a 15 amp to start and if it doesnt work ill do the 20 amp. Im i going to have to change the 16 guage wire or the relay? ill double check the relay amps allowed. if its over i got to change it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 06:19 PM   #7
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
well i couldnt find a number on the relay, but on hella's site it says its a 40 am relay, so it should be able to handle this.

now is my wiring still good?

on here (http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm) it says im good if its chasis wired but if its power transmission no good. whats the difference?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 06:42 PM   #8
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
bump
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 07:04 PM   #9
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,847
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
You will most likely be fine with that wire with a 15A fuse
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 07:34 PM   #10
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
super thanks everyone. ill be getting that fuse tommorow!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:41 AM   #11
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
well, i tried up to a 30 amp fuse and they all blew. So i'll try a 35amp in a bit, but am i going to have to switch out the 16 guage for 14 guage.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:46 AM   #12
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,847
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
Sounds like something is wired incorrectly then
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:56 AM   #13
Senior Member
David K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shedDavid K is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
David K's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2009, #18969
Location: San Marcos, Alta California
Age: 57
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,255
David K's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by cummins6speed View Post
Sounds like something is wired incorrectly then
x2... don't go bigger than 30 amps... otherwise you could start a fire or at the least, melt the wires.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 09:05 AM   #14
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
well the lights work on the switch when i dont use the fuse (just touch the two ends that are usually connected by the fuse) so i know the fuse is the problem. now what i am thinking im going to have to do is change all the wire from 16 guage to 14 guage?

cuz it seems the only way is if i go with a higher amperage of fuse (30+). 16 guage can only handle 22amps.

Now im i going to have to change out the whole relay, as well, or can i just change the 2 wires that carry the charge of the battery (barttery ---->relay and realy---> lights)
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 09:19 AM   #15
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
This is my wiring



It worked perfectly fine with my halogens, no problems. It just seems the fuse at 30 on the relay keeps blowing. I have no idea why. my hids are 55 wat, 12v. I really have no idea why this keeps happening.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 09:29 AM   #16
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,847
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
The problem is that your ballasts should be drawing around 5A each, probably a little more at startup but not that significant so you shouldn't be blowing 30A fuses
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 09:30 AM   #17
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,847
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
Do your ballasts say what the max current input is?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 09:36 AM   #18
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by cummins6speed View Post
The problem is that your ballasts should be drawing around 5A each, probably a little more at startup but not that significant so you shouldn't be blowing 30A fuses
i figures 30 amps is to high. when i touched the wires together though the wires dont smoke, so i am assuming it isnt drawing that much amps. Its super weird

Quote:
Originally Posted by cummins6speed View Post
Do your ballasts say what the max current input is?
the only thing my ballast says is cot/1200dvc/85vac/2000hrs? i dont no if that helps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 10:17 AM   #19
tacoma16 [OP] tacoma16 is online now
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,148
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
well i tried a 10 amp fuse out of the fuse holder and it worked fine....weird. so i then tried to put the fuse in the holder and it worked and then stoped, so im going to try another fuse holder and another 15 amp fuse and see how that goes.

This is really weird and agrevating.

on the bright side, the hids are...well bright haha
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 10:46 AM   #20
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,847
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
Sounds like your fuse holder might be grounding out on something. Pinched wire?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hella 700ff HID conversion. Dellosa89 Lighting 92 06-11-2014 04:58 PM
HOW TO-Hella 500FF HID Conversion jTrimmell Lighting 8 10-01-2012 12:16 PM
Hella 4000 HID CONVERSION WhatThePho? Lighting 17 06-07-2011 02:17 PM
Hella 500 HID Conversion NwiTACO Lighting 22 04-13-2011 07:44 AM
4 Hella 500FF HID conversion fidencio74 Buy / Sell / Trade 11 11-04-2010 06:28 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.