Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

DTRL using both filaments 4157's

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2011, 01:01 PM   #1
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
DTRL using both filaments 4157's

I have a non-DTRL Tacoma.

What I did was splice in to the green wire from the parking light and ran 14g wire to the empty space in my front turns. While this works in getting them to light up, both filaments are not being utilized....only when the turn signal comes on.

Anyone know of which wire I would need to splice into, to get both filaments going at once?

I know of the DTRL mod and ordering that part, but if I can do it this way, it would be not only easier but cheaper.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 04:41 PM   #2
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
anyone?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 04:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,851
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
You want both filaments on for running lights? One filament is used for the turn signal, you can hook it up to your running lights but then it wont flash with the turn signals
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:18 PM   #4
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by cummins6speed View Post
You want both filaments on for running lights? One filament is used for the turn signal, you can hook it up to your running lights but then it wont flash with the turn signals
OK....well that answers my question.

With my non-DTRL lights, there are only 2 wires going into it. Do you know what those are? One is hot I'm sure...is the other just a ground? I'm not a big electronic/relay guy...so just trying to understand.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,851
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icepuck72 View Post
OK....well that answers my question.

With my non-DTRL lights, there are only 2 wires going into it. Do you know what those are? One is hot I'm sure...is the other just a ground? I'm not a big electronic/relay guy...so just trying to understand.

Thanks
Did you originally have dual filament bulbs in there or did you replace them with dual filament bulbs?

With non-DTRL lights you must have had a single filament bulb with two wires, a +12V and a ground which is powered by the turn signal switch and relay. With DTRL's you have a dual filament bulb and three wires, two +12V wires and a ground. One of those hots would still be powered by the turn signal switch and the other by the running lights and each going to their own filament
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:16 PM   #6
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by cummins6speed View Post
Did you originally have dual filament bulbs in there or did you replace them with dual filament bulbs?

With non-DTRL lights you must have had a single filament bulb with two wires, a +12V and a ground which is powered by the turn signal switch and relay. With DTRL's you have a dual filament bulb and three wires, two +12V wires and a ground. One of those hots would still be powered by the turn signal switch and the other by the running lights and each going to their own filament
Right now I have the 4157 dual filaments straight from the factory. I have no DTRL.

I'm wondering if instead of running the power from the green wire from the parking light to the hot of the turn signal I would have full power AND turn signal functionality.

As of right now, I'm running power from the green wire from the parking light to the empty space on the socket. It lights up at the low end instead of high power like the DTRL.

Am I making any sense? I'm not the best at electronics but I'm trying....
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,851
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
Wait, is this on your 2011?

It sounds like you have it wired up essentially as it would have been from the factory
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:45 PM   #8
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
2011

From the factory the only way the front ambers would turn on would be hazard or turn signals.

What I did to get them lit up was splice into the parking hot (Green) and take that wire (14g) to the empty space on the back of the socket. Now they are lit up, but they only light up like the low end. Only one filament.

What I WANT to do is have both filaments lit. This is how the DTRL's from the factory are working. They use both filaments and are way brighter.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,851
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Icepuck72 View Post
2011

From the factory the only way the front ambers would turn on would be hazard or turn signals.

What I did to get them lit up was splice into the parking hot (Green) and take that wire (14g) to the empty space on the back of the socket. Now they are lit up, but they only light up like the low end. Only one filament.

What I WANT to do is have both filaments lit. This is how the DTRL's from the factory are working. They use both filaments and are way brighter.
Are you sure that is how the factory DTRL's are? Im not exactly sure how you would do that other than doing something like run the running light power to a turn signal flasher with a normally closed contact then when you use the turn signal it blinks by turning off one filament rather than turning it on
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 07:59 PM   #10
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
I'm pretty sure this is how they get the full brightness. The DTRL models are using the 4157 ambers too.

Maybe someone with factory DTRL can chime in.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:10 PM   #11
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,851
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
Have you tried this:
http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/tec...stall-oem.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:17 PM   #12
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,851
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
Im not quite sure how just doing that works because I know what you mean about only having the two wires on the socket, my girlfriends truck is the same way. I'd have to go look at the truck and a wiring diagram
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:32 PM   #13
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by cummins6speed View Post
Yeah....If I can't figure it out the way I'm looking at I will go this route.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:34 PM   #14
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by cummins6speed View Post
Im not quite sure how just doing that works because I know what you mean about only having the two wires on the socket, my girlfriends truck is the same way. I'd have to go look at the truck and a wiring diagram
Does your GF's truck have DTRL? If so, would you mind taking a pic of the back of it for me?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:48 PM   #15
Senior Member
cummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shedcummins6speed is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
cummins6speed's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12426
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,851
cummins6speed's Tacoma Gallery
No, hers are the same as yours
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:51 PM   #16
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
OK....gotcha
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 07:13 AM   #17
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
what if I put in a 3156 bulb....single filament? hmmmmm.....
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 09:33 AM   #18
displaced viking living in new jersey
stunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shedstunt man hans is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
stunt man hans's Avatar
Name: hans
Joined: Sep 2010, #43127
Location: south jersey
Age: 36
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,649
stunt man hans's Tacoma Gallery
so your truck does not have dtrl's, but you want to run switch backs?

and your asking me about the cf18-08 flasher module. i'm not sure about this dude you very may well end up causing problems for your self.

if your wanting led turnsignals that function properly and don't more headaches.

swap out your flasher for the cf18-08 8 pin flasher change out front and rear bulbs for high quality 360 degree leds and call it a day.

if your trying to jurry rig some half ass daytime running lights in your truck i'm completely unsure.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 06:26 PM   #19
Icepuck72 [OP] Icepuck72 is offline
Senior Member
Icepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really niceIcepuck72 is just really nice
 
Icepuck72's Avatar
Firefighter:
Name: Mark
Joined: Jul 2011, #59563
Location: Richmond, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,023
Icepuck72's Tacoma Gallery
Nope. I'm just going with the electronic flasher and I'll be done. Not worried about DTRL's that much to cause any problems.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 02:47 AM   #20
Jumper's Leds
csjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shedcsjumper2003 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
csjumper2003's Avatar
Navy: 2nd class petty officer
Name: chris
Joined: Apr 2011, #54596
Location: Lakeside
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,300
csjumper2003's Tacoma Gallery
ok. TRD packages have dtrls stock. they only run 2 wires just like the non dtrls do. The way u see them on is to deprerss ur e brake with the truck on and headlights off. the dtrls will come on.

Both non dtrls and dtrls both use the 4157 if you put a regular 3157 or a 3156 u will constantly blow fuses.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTRL did not come on Dred777 2nd Gen. Tacomas 7 12-06-2011 06:53 PM
DTRL to properly use both filaments and add markers in the mix. caribe makaira Lighting 6 05-09-2011 10:16 PM
DTRL...who has it and how'd you do it? Veccster 2nd Gen. Tacomas 16 04-10-2009 07:59 AM
DTRL Question surfsupl 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 03-19-2009 01:35 AM
DTRL Help! hwork50 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 01-03-2009 09:18 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.