Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

installing fog lights on an sr5

Reply
 
Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2012, 04:59 PM   #1
Member
VancouverTaco is on a distinguished road
Name: Cole
Joined: Oct 2011, #64612
Location: Vancouver, BC
Gender: Male
Posts: 95
VancouverTaco's Tacoma Gallery
installing fog lights on an sr5

This is probably a dumb question but you never know. I have an 08 sr5 that is pre wired for fog lights. I just bought some fog lights off of ebay that came with a switch and all the wires and such. My question is if I can just plug the fog lights into my bumper, and install the switch in my dash? Or do I need to mess around with some wires?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 05:36 PM   #2
t_e t_e is offline
Senior Member
t_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to all
Name: Erik
Joined: Dec 2009, #27078
Location: miami,fl
Gender: Male
Posts: 547
t_e's Tacoma Gallery
Chances are you have the aftermarket kit which doesnt come with the real oem switch. If you want 100% oem you need the switch, relay that plugs into the underhood fuse box and the fuse.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 05:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,682
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by t_e View Post
Chances are you have the aftermarket kit which doesnt come with the real oem switch. If you want 100% oem you need the switch, relay that plugs into the underhood fuse box and the fuse.
This.

The switch not only won't plug into the harness, it won't properly fit the dash opening.

$70 will get you a factory switch.

You'll also need an OEM relay to install in the underhood fuse box.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 05:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,150
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
This.

The switch not only won't plug into the harness, it won't properly fit the dash opening.

$70 will get you a factory switch.

You'll also need an OEM relay to install in the underhood fuse box.

Priced it out and it was like $1200. for the relay, 2 lights, and a switch.

you have the kit already, really all you need is a oem swithc which you can get ojn ebay for 20$. I believe the sellers name is eddy rockets or somehting

I am in the same boat as you and figure i would see how much it was. Im going aftermarket for this one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 05:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,682
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacoma16 View Post
you have the kit already, really all you need is a oem swithc which you can get ojn ebay for 20$. I believe the sellers name is eddy rockets or somehting
A little more (accurate) info on the seller would be helpful.


I did find these:

Tacoma OEM
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Toyota-Tacom...item2a1be84675

FJ Cruiser (6-wire, won't work properly in the Taco harness)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/FJ-CRUISER-F...item4ab47a90a4

The $20 switches (found Eddie Rockets) do not plug into the factory harness... they are just basic generic lighted rocker switches that you can buy at O'Reilly (for under $10), only difference is these have the picture of the foglight and the O'Reilly switches don't
http://www.ebay.com/itm/TOYOTA-FOG-L...item2a1b2e8116
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 06:08 PM   #6
t_e t_e is offline
Senior Member
t_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to allt_e is a name known to all
Name: Erik
Joined: Dec 2009, #27078
Location: miami,fl
Gender: Male
Posts: 547
t_e's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
A little more (accurate) info on the seller would be helpful.


I did find these:

Tacoma OEM
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Toyota-Tacom...item2a1be84675

FJ Cruiser (6-wire, won't work properly in the Taco harness)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/FJ-CRUISER-F...item4ab47a90a4

The $20 switches (found Eddie Rockets) do not plug into the factory harness... they are just basic generic lighted rocker switches that you can buy at O'Reilly (for under $10), only difference is these have the picture of the foglight and the O'Reilly switches don't
http://www.ebay.com/itm/TOYOTA-FOG-L...item2a1b2e8116
option one will plug n play since you are pre-wired. then all you need is the factory relay and fuse.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 06:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,150
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
the switch is for plug and play. Should have been more specific. There the closest you can get to oem for the price. I believe the scion switches are like this (dont hold me to it).
but for $20 it was the best thing i could find that looked the most oem at the time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,682
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
They may be Scion OEM... or they may look like the Scion OEM switches, but they will not plug into the Tacoma harness.

The first link (at just above $40) is the factory OEM switch for the Tacoma.
As I said... the Scion rocker switches are simply generics with three lug terminals on the back. I don't know how they tie into the Scion harness, but the Tacoma harness would have to be cut and modified.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:29 PM   #9
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,150
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacoma16 View Post
the switch is for plug and play. Should have been more specific. There the closest you can get to oem for the price. I believe the scion switches are like this (dont hold me to it).
but for $20 it was the best thing i could find that looked the most oem at the time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
They may be Scion OEM... or they may look like the Scion OEM switches, but they will not plug into the Tacoma harness. Did not say they would work with the factory harness, i just said they are a close looking oem switch, and it is for plug and play.

The first link (at just above $40) is the factory OEM switch for the Tacoma.
As I said... the Scion rocker switches are simply generics with three lug terminals on the back. I don't know how they tie into the Scion harness, but the Tacoma harness would have to be cut and modified. Dont think this would be worth it for the OP as he already has a kit off of ebay, and he just thought he could wire the lamps in with the pre existing wiring (im assuming to avoid wiring the new lights), but its pricey. This switch will work with the plug and play setup that he got off ebay. This will make it look more oem, than the swithc he probably got with his kit, for cheaper.
see the bold
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,682
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacoma16 View Post
see the bold
And read the OP.

The OP has a truck that is already wired for fogs.
He's got an eBay kit that includes a shitty switch and a harness that he will not need.

He needs "plug and play" that will fit the Tacoma factory harness.
That is NOT the Scion switch. That would be the Tacoma switch from the first link that I posted as t_e indicated.

His truck is 99% there. All he needs is a factory switch, factory relay, and the fogs (and a fuse).

He's got the fogs. The switch is available for $43.
The relay might be $20 or so from the dealer. Fuse is pennies.
That'll be a 100% factory type system and the switch will be correct for the Tacoma.

You keep talking about using "plug and play" with his ebay harness and the Scion switch... running the eBay harness through the firewall is not "plug and play"... much less cutting the connectors off of that harness and basically rewiring the whole thing to accommodate the Scion switch.
I've got that fog kit and the supplied harness is not even long enough to make it through the firewall to the dash.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:00 PM   #11
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,150
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
And read the OP.

The OP has a truck that is already wired for fogs.
He's got an eBay kit that includes a shitty switch and a harness that he will not need. he has a harness just suggesting getting an oem switch instead of the "shitty switch" that came with it
He needs "plug and play" that will fit the Tacoma factory harness.
That is NOT the Scion switch. That would be the Tacoma switch from the first link that I posted as t_e indicated. I was suggesting plug and play with the harness that came with the kit off of ebay

His truck is 99% there. All he needs is a factory switch, factory relay, and the fogs (and a fuse). Yeah but all this is super expensive (as i have priced it out as stated above)

He's got the fogs. The switch is available for $43.
The relay might be $20 or so from the dealer. Fuse is pennies.
That'll be a 100% factory type system and the switch will be correct for the Tacoma.

You keep talking about using "plug and play" with his ebay harness and the Scion switch... running the eBay harness through the firewall is not "plug and play"... much less cutting the connectors off of that harness and basically rewiring the whole thing to accommodate the Scion switch.
I've got that fog kit and the supplied harness is not even long enough to make it through the firewall to the dash The plug and play harness that i am familiar with just plug into the 3 plugs. Yes it is a pain to wire it but from what i priced out (almost a grand for the components you mentioned-atleast in canada) I believe that it is worth it. It may take a hour or two to wire the lights with the supplied harness, saving you a few hundred dollars (atleast in my situation) .

Op i tried to do what you were doing-filling in the missing peices so you can be 100% oem for fogs. I found it was too expensive ( I got quoted over 1200$). I just wanted to suggest a cheap oem look a like switch that would work with your plug and play harness (im sure the aftermarket switch you have is a 3 prung so all you have to do is just literally attatch it).

what ever you do best of luck and i hope you get your fogs as not only are they very functional and great in weather conditions but they look good on the tacos as well

for what its worth i hope what Rich91710 is saying regarding the cost is correct so you can run the oem method.

Rich91710 did you end up doing the oem method or were you just guesssing those prices? you said you bought the same thing off of ebay. if you new these prices why did you even bother trying to wire "the short harness" if you new you could wire them oem?

Not trying to start a war here just curious for the interest of the op.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:09 PM   #12
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,682
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacoma16 View Post
Op i tried to do what you were doing-filling in the missing peices so you can be 100% oem for fogs. I found it was too expensive ( I got quoted over 1200$).
You got quoted over $1200 because the dealer charges an arm and a leg for the foglight housings.
The OP and I covered that with a $65 fog set.

I paid $67 (plus shipping) for an FJ Cruiser switch and harness... haven't yet installed it but I'll be using the relay from the eBay foglight set.

So my system (RC base, truck is not prewired) will total about $140 or so.
Quote:
oem look a like switch that would work with your plug and play harness (im sure the aftermarket switch you have is a 3 prung so all you have to do is just literally attatch it).
The switch that came with his fog set fits the harness that came with it... and ONLY fits that harness. It's a stupid 4 (maybe 6?) pin thing and I couldn't even get it to plug in.. kept trying to bend the pins. So the Scion switch will match neither his factory harness nor the harness that came with his fogs.
Quote:
Rich91710 did you end up doing the oem method or were you just guesssing those prices? you said you bought the same thing off of ebay. if you new these prices why did you even bother trying to wire "the short harness" if you new you could wire them oem?
I have an RC Base... not pre-wired for fogs from the factory.
If mine were prewired I'd have gone the way I'm recommending above.
The eBay foglight housings cover the bulk of the cost of the system. The factory switch isn't cheap, but it's simply "right"... it looks factory and matches the rest of the switches (or in my case, plugs) in the dash.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,150
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
You got quoted over $1200 because the dealer charges an arm and a leg for the foglight housings.
The OP and I covered that with a $65 fog set.
I got quoted 300 each for the housing plus, 400 on a relay, and then 200 for the harness or something stupid like that. Regardless the dealership sucks

I paid $67 (plus shipping) for an FJ Cruiser switch and harness... haven't yet installed it but I'll be using the relay from the eBay foglight set.

So my system (RC base, truck is not prewired) will total about $140 or so.
Thats pretty good price

The switch that came with his fog set fits the harness that came with it... and ONLY fits that harness. It's a stupid 4 (maybe 6?) pin thing and I couldn't even get it to plug in.. kept trying to bend the pins. So the Scion switch will match neither his factory harness nor the harness that came with his fogs.
i did not know it came with a 4 pin for the switch i would have thought 3, so yeah "scion" switch wont work
I have an RC Base... not pre-wired for fogs from the factory.
If mine were prewired I'd have gone the way I'm recommending above.
The eBay foglight housings cover the bulk of the cost of the system. The factory switch isn't cheap, but it's simply "right"... it looks factory and matches the rest of the switches (or in my case, plugs) in the dash. I understand this "right" looking concept, i couldnt find the 40$ switch at the time, and now i got to stick with the "scion" switches as i have two installed right now and another 2 to go in.
op this is the route. lol sorry for all the confusion with my sheet.

Keep us posten on what you do!
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:36 PM   #14
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,682
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Ahh...

Another case of "don't listen to the dealer"

Ask your dealer about putting factory cruise and intermittent wipers into a 4-cylinder RC base.
The answer will be anything from "can't be done" to over $1000 for the wipers (need a new motor, controller, stalk) and they MIGHT suggest a Rostra aftermarket cruise.

Both can be done in 15 minutes without leaving the driver's seat... $250 shipped for all parts.

Same for the fogs. No harness is needed. $400 for the relay? He either didn't quote you the right part or he's out of his fucking mind... sounds like he quoted you the entire relay BOX!
$300 each for the housings sounds about right for OEM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:47 PM   #15
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,150
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
yeah i learned out real quick to stay away from the dealer for anything to add on after you purchase the vehicle. When i first started adding extras i thought "the dealer will have it", well never again.

The guy probably didnt find the right part, as it seems all the part guys i talk to hate their jobs and dont want to do their job. regardless, ill double check for the relay again and the harness and see what it comes out to, plus good old ebay/craiglist kinda seraching too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:55 PM   #16
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,682
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
I was going to try and look it up but the site I use is down for the evening.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 05:51 PM   #17
Member
VancouverTaco is on a distinguished road
Name: Cole
Joined: Oct 2011, #64612
Location: Vancouver, BC
Gender: Male
Posts: 95
VancouverTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for all the help guys. I guess I need to go to the stealership and get an OEM relay and switch. I would order the switch you posted a link for off of ebay, but by the time I pay shipping and duty and all that fun stuff (Canada) it will cost basically the same as if I just went to my local Toyta dealership and bought the stuff.

The wire harness that came with my fog light kit has a relay and fuse on it. Would I be able to take that off and use it? Or will it not work because it's aftermarket. Also is there a clear spot to put them under the hood? I have no clue about anything electrical (I guess thats why I'm a Carpenter)
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 06:43 PM   #18
Junior Member
specjay is on a distinguished road
Name: Jeremy
Joined: Mar 2012, #75049
Location: Montreal
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
specjay's Tacoma Gallery
Hi VancouverTaco. I also have an SR5. I bought it last week so it's a 2012. My question is, does all the SR5 are prewired ? If it is, i would like to buy same kit as you but I want to make sure it will fit in the hole.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 06:46 PM   #19
Member
VancouverTaco is on a distinguished road
Name: Cole
Joined: Oct 2011, #64612
Location: Vancouver, BC
Gender: Male
Posts: 95
VancouverTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by specjay View Post
Hi VancouverTaco. I also have an SR5. I bought it last week so it's a 2012. My question is, does all the SR5 are prewired ? If it is, i would like to buy same kit as you but I want to make sure it will fit in the hole.
I'm pretty sure all V6 trucks are prewired. Not to sure about the 2012's though
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 06:56 PM   #20
Senior Member
tacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacoma16 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacoma16's Avatar
Name: Peter
Joined: Mar 2011, #53109
Location: Ontario
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,150
tacoma16's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by VancouverTaco View Post
Thanks for all the help guys. I guess I need to go to the stealership and get an OEM relay and switch. I would order the switch you posted a link for off of ebay, but by the time I pay shipping and duty and all that fun stuff (Canada) it will cost basically the same as if I just went to my local Toyta dealership and bought the stuff.

The wire harness that came with my fog light kit has a relay and fuse on it. Would I be able to take that off and use it? Or will it not work because it's aftermarket. Also is there a clear spot to put them under the hood? I have no clue about anything electrical (I guess thats why I'm a Carpenter)
Im not really familiar with the kit. "Rich" said the switch that comes with the kit has more than 3 pins which leads me to believe that the relay is going to have more than 4 spots (spst/spdt). Rich probably knows as he has the same kit. i think he is an electrician too. double bonus
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Products Discussed in this Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing fog lights jack18 Technical Chat 16 03-13-2013 05:36 PM
Installing fog lights, headlights and tail lights soon kxd Lighting 12 01-14-2013 11:46 AM
installing fog lights? MikeyD 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 07-30-2012 10:33 AM
Installing OEM Fog Lights-Any good Threads? Drogers Lighting 1 10-26-2010 05:37 AM
installing fog lights tacomathunder Lighting 0 02-14-2010 08:15 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.