Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Need help! 2 fuse bypass

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2012, 02:53 PM   #1
dad32509 [OP] dad32509 is offline
Thinking of something clever
dad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
dad32509's Avatar
Name: Dave
Joined: Sep 2011, #64230
Location: San Diego
Age: 31
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,125
dad32509's Tacoma Gallery
Question Need help! 2 fuse bypass

So I have 2 hella 500's in front that run off a relay, and instead of tapping in to the high beam I ran a add a fuse. Im running two more 55w lights on a bed light bar and am trying to run another add a fuse. I dont have a test tool to find out where I should run the other add a fuse. Anyone know of a good open fuse I can run off? Any help would be appreciated



  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed2000GTacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
2000GTacoma's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2011, #50183
Location: Snow Hill NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,139
2000GTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
if you are running the lights on a relay meaning the wire the add a fuse is powering is just triggering the relay you could run 2 or 3 relays i feel like off of that one add a fuse. someone please correct me if im wrong
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
NoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NoSoup4You's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Jan 2012, #69909
Location: San Clemente
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,307
NoSoup4You's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2000GTacoma View Post
if you are running the lights on a relay meaning the wire the add a fuse is powering is just triggering the relay you could run 2 or 3 relays i feel like off of that one add a fuse. someone please correct me if im wrong
exactly what I was thinking.

I use the spare fuse slot under the dash to power my CB, and to signal the relays on 3 HIDs. Never had an issue with any of it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:14 PM   #6
dad32509 [OP] dad32509 is offline
Thinking of something clever
dad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
dad32509's Avatar
Name: Dave
Joined: Sep 2011, #64230
Location: San Diego
Age: 31
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,125
dad32509's Tacoma Gallery
So the add a fuse wire is run to the power slot on the switch for my front lights. then the swith has a ground and a power run to the relay. I have two switches for the front and rear lights. Can I run both power wires on both swithes to the one add a fuse?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:24 PM   #7
Senior Member
NoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NoSoup4You's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Jan 2012, #69909
Location: San Clemente
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,307
NoSoup4You's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad32509 View Post
So the add a fuse wire is run to the power slot on the switch for my front lights. then the swith has a ground and a power run to the relay. I have two switches for the front and rear lights. Can I run both power wires on both swithes to the one add a fuse?
That's what I did .. took a single wire from the empty add-a-fuse and ran it to my CB for power, then spliced into it and ran a daisy chain across my 3 switches for the relay signal

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by dad32509 View Post
So the add a fuse wire is run to the power slot on the switch for my front lights. then the swith has a ground and a power run to the relay.
Are you running power and ground from the switch to the relay?
You should just have the relay-signal wire going from the switch --> relay, and the relay should have its own ground and fused-power away from the switch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 03:37 PM   #9
Senior Member
NoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NoSoup4You's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Jan 2012, #69909
Location: San Clemente
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,307
NoSoup4You's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad32509 View Post
So a total of 220w on that single add a fuse shouldnt be a problem? Im not sure of the fuse size I tapped into, I just saw it in the mods and tutorial section and went off what that dude did
That would be about 20 amps .. need to make sure your switches, wiring, and fuses can all handle that much.

Typically, anything over 5-10 amps I would put on a relay. The point of the relay is to use a low-amp signal wire to flip an electro-mechanical switch instead of running all that power in the cab and to your finger.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 04:03 PM   #10
dad32509 [OP] dad32509 is offline
Thinking of something clever
dad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
dad32509's Avatar
Name: Dave
Joined: Sep 2011, #64230
Location: San Diego
Age: 31
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,125
dad32509's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSoup4You View Post
That would be about 20 amps .. need to make sure your switches, wiring, and fuses can all handle that much.

Typically, anything over 5-10 amps I would put on a relay. The point of the relay is to use a low-amp signal wire to flip an electro-mechanical switch instead of running all that power in the cab and to your finger.
Yeah Ive got two relays ran. One for the front two lights and one for the back two lights. and those both have 15amp fuses run from the battery to the relay.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:27 PM   #11
Senior Member
NoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shedNoSoup4You is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
NoSoup4You's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Jan 2012, #69909
Location: San Clemente
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,307
NoSoup4You's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad32509 View Post
Yeah Ive got two relays ran. One for the front two lights and one for the back two lights. and those both have 15amp fuses run from the battery to the relay.
you should be all good then!
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 05:37 PM   #12
dad32509 [OP] dad32509 is offline
Thinking of something clever
dad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the sheddad32509 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
dad32509's Avatar
Name: Dave
Joined: Sep 2011, #64230
Location: San Diego
Age: 31
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,125
dad32509's Tacoma Gallery
Ok, so just want to double check I have this all right. After spending all the time running wire and shit I wanna make sure I dont fuck this up! So front lights are 55w run off a single relay and switch and the switch is run off power from a single add a fuse. Now Im running two more 55w rear lights and those are run to a relay then to a switch and that switch will be run by the same add a fuse. So Ill just splice in the new switch into the previous add a fuse
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:52 PM   #13
slow is smooth, and smooth is fast.
Leggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shedLeggo is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Leggo's Avatar
Name: Steve
Joined: Dec 2010, #47805
Location: Newton,Ma.
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,009
Leggo's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad32509 View Post
Ok, so just want to double check I have this all right. After spending all the time running wire and shit I wanna make sure I dont fuck this up! So front lights are 55w run off a single relay and switch and the switch is run off power from a single add a fuse. Now Im running two more 55w rear lights and those are run to a relay then to a switch and that switch will be run by the same add a fuse. So Ill just splice in the new switch into the previous add a fuse
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 07:05 PM   #14
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad32509 View Post
So a total of 220w on that single add a fuse shouldnt be a problem? Im not sure of the fuse size I tapped into, I just saw it in the mods and tutorial section and went off what that dude did
220w on the one add-a-fuse will likely be a problem.

You said relay... if the add-a-fuse feeding pin 30 on the relay, or is it feeding the switches that trigger the relay?

If it's feeding the relay, get rid of it and go to a direct battery connection through a fuse holder designed for that amount of current and don't overtax your fuse block.

If it's feeding the switches and in turn powering the COIL on the relay (pin 85 or 86), then you can run 5 switches and relays from that fuse.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse tap & in line fuse? DoubleTake Lighting 6 06-12-2012 07:40 AM
Blown AM1 fuse in under hood fuse box Gameload1187 Technical Chat 2 01-02-2012 08:57 AM
Wts: blue sea fuse block, fuse, metal holder sierrahsky Buy / Sell / Trade 21 09-27-2011 09:09 AM
What is the fuse label called for the compass and temp fuse? maddy1009 2nd Gen. Tacomas 5 08-04-2010 08:56 AM
add-a-fuse/fuse tap bill-e-boy Lighting 4 01-17-2010 03:37 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.