Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

2 lights 1 switch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-19-2009, 09:41 PM   #1
branct06 [OP] branct06 is offline
Senior Member
branct06 has a spectacular aura aboutbranct06 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Thomas
Joined: Jun 2008, #7489
Location: norcross Ga. and High Point Nc.
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 524
branct06's Tacoma Gallery
2 lights 1 switch

two lights, one switch..... how do i hook them up to the battery and ground them? whats the easiest way? Any diagrams or pics??
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:52 PM   #2
Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell outta my way
tacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacomaman06's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: May 2007, #1475
Location: York,South Carolina
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 26,353
tacomaman06's Tacoma Gallery
the way i do it...without a relay.......run the two hots and the two grounds from the lights together...........then on the switch, you got 2 wires.....one to the battery with a fuselink, the other to the hot on the lights. then...run the ground on the lights to the negative on the battery. easy does it!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:55 PM   #3
Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell outta my way
tacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacomaman06's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: May 2007, #1475
Location: York,South Carolina
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 26,353
tacomaman06's Tacoma Gallery
and i dont actually mean run the grounds and hots together.....run grounds together....run hots together. sorry for the confusion.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:59 PM   #4
branct06 [OP] branct06 is offline
Senior Member
branct06 has a spectacular aura aboutbranct06 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Thomas
Joined: Jun 2008, #7489
Location: norcross Ga. and High Point Nc.
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 524
branct06's Tacoma Gallery
so wire the 2 lights together then run one wire off the + and run another to the ground? im visual and a lil slow lol i need a pic
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 02:55 PM   #6
Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell outta my way
tacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacomaman06's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: May 2007, #1475
Location: York,South Carolina
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 26,353
tacomaman06's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by branct06 View Post
2 55 watt lights and one switch with 3 prongs on the back
yeah...you can run the 2 lights together, then use a single wire for the hot and ground....but im gonna suggest some 14 or 12 guage wire...it'll hold current better. on the switch you have...with 3 prongs......one is earth,one is accessories, the other is load.................the "earth" prong goes to a frame ground to let the switch's led light up....the load goes to the battery with a fusable link, and the accessories prong goes to the hot on the lights.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 03:47 PM   #7
branct06 [OP] branct06 is offline
Senior Member
branct06 has a spectacular aura aboutbranct06 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Thomas
Joined: Jun 2008, #7489
Location: norcross Ga. and High Point Nc.
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 524
branct06's Tacoma Gallery
sounds good tacomaman06 i just decided to go to walmart and buy a normal on off switch and just run two different switches
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 03:50 PM   #8
Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell outta my way
tacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacomaman06's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: May 2007, #1475
Location: York,South Carolina
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 26,353
tacomaman06's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by branct06 View Post
sounds good tacomaman06 i just decided to go to walmart and buy a normal on off switch and just run two different switches
what...one for each light??
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 04:41 PM   #9
branct06 [OP] branct06 is offline
Senior Member
branct06 has a spectacular aura aboutbranct06 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Thomas
Joined: Jun 2008, #7489
Location: norcross Ga. and High Point Nc.
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 524
branct06's Tacoma Gallery
ya i know crazy but its simple and easy, i have wired a lot of stuff in my truck but for some reason these two damn lights are giving me a bitch of a time, i think im just over thiking stuff
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 06:42 PM   #10
Carolina Alliance: Lead, follow, or get the hell outta my way
tacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtacomaman06 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tacomaman06's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: May 2007, #1475
Location: York,South Carolina
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 26,353
tacomaman06's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by branct06 View Post
ya i know crazy but its simple and easy, i have wired a lot of stuff in my truck but for some reason these two damn lights are giving me a bitch of a time, i think im just over thiking stuff
i hear that man. but if you wanna run them off just one switch......splice the ground and hot into the other light...it'll work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:09 PM   #11
branct06 [OP] branct06 is offline
Senior Member
branct06 has a spectacular aura aboutbranct06 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Thomas
Joined: Jun 2008, #7489
Location: norcross Ga. and High Point Nc.
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 524
branct06's Tacoma Gallery
im running both lights off the one switch i installed them today, only problem is one light is slightly dimmer then the other
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 04:39 PM   #14
branct06 [OP] branct06 is offline
Senior Member
branct06 has a spectacular aura aboutbranct06 has a spectacular aura about
Name: Thomas
Joined: Jun 2008, #7489
Location: norcross Ga. and High Point Nc.
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 524
branct06's Tacoma Gallery
i connected the lights and ran one + wire and then one ground and i connected them with wire connectors that plug into eachother, im thinkin the current gets weaker the longer it travels, the lights are mounted on my toolbox
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aux. Lights Switch Freestyler Lighting 26 06-22-2013 07:37 AM
Possible switch for lights? claw 2nd Gen. Tacomas 7 10-19-2012 02:50 PM
Piaa lights and other switch longbow Lighting 8 05-30-2012 01:33 PM
Wiring Fog lights without a switch? Tdup Lighting 1 02-14-2010 01:07 PM
Looking for 2009 Fog Lights and Switch kungfupanda Lighting 1 05-17-2009 02:45 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.