LSC15's 95 Tacoma 4x4

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

driving lights that come on with brights

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 08:10 AM   #21
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 26,331
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJackson View Post
Also, I noticed in the diagram it says no cutting into oem wire harness.. Does that mean to get the power to the relay from the battery now? Pugga says to get the power from the high beam power wire.
Caribe and I accomplished the same end function just 2 different ways. Caribe is accustomed to using the ground as the switch where as I'm more used to switching the power side. His method is neater, mine is a little more straight forward although does require splicing into one of the OEM wires. When it comes to wiring in an aftermarket accessory, there are many ways to go about doing it, especially when it comes to 'custom' functions. I would choose the way you understand the best and you are most comfortable doing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:16 AM   #22
Senior Member
Chepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Chepo's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2011, #63159
Location: Mexico City
Gender: Male
Posts: 430
Chepo's Tacoma Gallery
Ok, Ill take some pictures later of how I wired mine! They only turn on with brights...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 04:42 PM   #24
Senior Member
Chepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Chepo's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2011, #63159
Location: Mexico City
Gender: Male
Posts: 430
Chepo's Tacoma Gallery
I just wrote a How to, hope it helps!

http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/lig...ml#post6133762
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 04:07 PM   #25
Junior Member
AllanJackson is on a distinguished road
Name: Allan
Joined: Dec 2012, #92927
Location: Greenville, SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
AllanJackson's Tacoma Gallery
Caribe.. I went according to your diagram but the relay is not flipping. For the add-a-line thing I put two 10 amp fuses and in the picture you have a 3 amp and 10 amp. Could that be the problem?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 05:21 PM   #26
Senior Member
Chepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Chepo's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2011, #63159
Location: Mexico City
Gender: Male
Posts: 430
Chepo's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJackson View Post
Caribe.. I went according to your diagram but the relay is not flipping. For the add-a-line thing I put two 10 amp fuses and in the picture you have a 3 amp and 10 amp. Could that be the problem?
I don't think that would be a problem...



Are the fuses ok? and did you check that the switch is correctly grounded???
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 05:30 PM   #27
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 26,331
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJackson View Post
Caribe.. I went according to your diagram but the relay is not flipping. For the add-a-line thing I put two 10 amp fuses and in the picture you have a 3 amp and 10 amp. Could that be the problem?
In Caribe's drawing, the bottom fuse should be the size of the fuse you took out of that slot. The top fuse doesn't need to be very large at all, using a 10A won't hurt anything, it's just more power than you need.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 06:14 PM   #28
Lurker No More
caribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
caribe makaira's Avatar
Navy: CAG11 & VAW-117 AME2
Joined: Feb 2011, #51121
Location: Caribbean, Puerto Rico
Gender: Male
Posts: 426
caribe makaira's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJackson View Post
Caribe.. I went according to your diagram but the relay is not flipping. For the add-a-line thing I put two 10 amp fuses and in the picture you have a 3 amp and 10 amp. Could that be the problem?
If you followed the diagram exactly, then you might have a bad relay or switch. Try to activate the circuit without the switch. Just get wire from pin 85 to ground with high beams ON.{test}
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 04:39 AM   #29
Junior Member
AllanJackson is on a distinguished road
Name: Allan
Joined: Dec 2012, #92927
Location: Greenville, SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
AllanJackson's Tacoma Gallery
Yes I bought a new relay, and took the switch off and attached the two wires so that it was always grounded. Same issue.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:12 PM   #30
Senior Member
Chepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Chepo's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2011, #63159
Location: Mexico City
Gender: Male
Posts: 430
Chepo's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJackson View Post
Ok so I did what caribe wanted me to do by buying a add-a-line cirucit and all it did was keep my lights on regardless if my lights are on or not so I took chepo's approach and it did the same thing.. It acts the same as if I touched it to the + battery. I touched it to the head relay and noticed it only came on with low and high beams.. So i tried to mess with that and now neither high or low beams will come on.. i didnt see any blown fuses and the high beams will come on with flash. so do i need a new head relay?

Every where else I put the switch wire it'll either never come on or always be on. I'm not trying to be difficult and I'm not an idiot.. It's just not working!! Any thoughts on this?

Ok, lets solve this problem... we will split it in two: Headlights and new circuit.

First of all, disconnect your battery (-) so there won't be any problems...

Now, lets take everything to stock, disconnect the new addafuse or any other cable you plugged for the install.

Lets check all the fuses in the fusebox, if you have a fuse tester it will be better... if not, take a voltmeter and check if there is continuity on them. Remember that sometimes they look good, but they are not!

Caribe indicated in this image where are the High fuses, I might thing that the ones to the right are the Low:



Of course, if they are blown, you need to change them.

Next thing is to test the relay for High and Low. You will need the voltmeter to check the continuity when its on high and low... I'm referring to this relay:



This is the way we can check if there is any problem with the headlights...

Now, plug everything back to place and connect the battery....


Going to the other thing, your new circuit...

What kind of relay did you get? The one with 4 pins or 5 pins?

(Remember to disconnect the battery before doing any electrical stuff)

The way to connect a relay is with this diagram:


Pin30 goes to battery+fuse
Pin85 goes to ground
Pin87 goes to your lights
Pin86 goes to the signal, signal+switch or battery+switch

If you have a 5 pins relay, you will have another that is Pin87A, in this case you will NOT connect anything to this pin. What it does is to take the energy to whatever is plugged when the switch is off or there is no signal...

After checking that the relay is connected the way it should be, check that your lights are connected in a correct way (+ to pin87 and to ground).

To TEST the circuit, the signal (pin86) is not going to be plugged to the fuse box, but let the cable free so you can test it with the battery.

Now, you have to connect the battery, and to test if it will turn on, put the "signal cable" (pin86) to positive on the battery, your lights should turn on... when you disconnect the cable to the battery, they will turn off...

This is the way that we know that your circuit is working fine...

Hope this helps!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:20 PM   #31
Lurker No More
caribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
caribe makaira's Avatar
Navy: CAG11 & VAW-117 AME2
Joined: Feb 2011, #51121
Location: Caribbean, Puerto Rico
Gender: Male
Posts: 426
caribe makaira's Tacoma Gallery
You forgot to include verifying the new bulbs....
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:24 AM   #32
Senior Member
Chepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shedChepo is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Chepo's Avatar
Joined: Sep 2011, #63159
Location: Mexico City
Gender: Male
Posts: 430
Chepo's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by caribe makaira View Post
You forgot to include verifying the new bulbs....
You're right... And the old (headlights), too...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:11 PM   #33
Junior Member
AllanJackson is on a distinguished road
Name: Allan
Joined: Dec 2012, #92927
Location: Greenville, SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
AllanJackson's Tacoma Gallery
Everything should be connected correct. And yes, when I touch the signal cable to the + side of the battery, it comes on and when I take it off it turns off.. But everywhere I am being told to connect the signal doesn't work. I noticed the lights are aftermarket.. Would that affect any way the current is moved around?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:24 PM   #34
Junior Member
AllanJackson is on a distinguished road
Name: Allan
Joined: Dec 2012, #92927
Location: Greenville, SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
AllanJackson's Tacoma Gallery
Exclamation

Okay so after toying around I now have the issue of my low or high beams won't turn on. Only my flashers. I checked all the fuses I could think of and my only other thing I can think of is the head relay, although it flips to activate the flashers could something still be wrong with it? It cost 30 to replace so I don't want to replace it unless someone deems it necessary.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:26 PM   #35
Junior Member
AllanJackson is on a distinguished road
Name: Allan
Joined: Dec 2012, #92927
Location: Greenville, SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
AllanJackson's Tacoma Gallery
Also, I switched the heater relay and the high/ low relay (the biggest 2 blue relays on bottom of the picture above) and still the same issue so it's not that relay either
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 03:48 PM   #36
Lurker No More
caribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shedcaribe makaira is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
caribe makaira's Avatar
Navy: CAG11 & VAW-117 AME2
Joined: Feb 2011, #51121
Location: Caribbean, Puerto Rico
Gender: Male
Posts: 426
caribe makaira's Tacoma Gallery
Head Relay only provides power to the headlights, Dim relay switches from Low Beam to High Beam. In our vehicles the fuses to the lamps are AFTER the relays.
So the flashers (turn signals/hazards) have nothing to do with the headlight circuit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 05:47 PM   #37
Junior Member
AllanJackson is on a distinguished road
Name: Allan
Joined: Dec 2012, #92927
Location: Greenville, SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
AllanJackson's Tacoma Gallery
When I say flashers I mean to pull the thing on steering wheel toward you, where it tenporary lights up the brights.. That works but normal high and low beam doesn't. Any suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 06:11 PM   #38
tacomawv
tacomawv is on a distinguished road
 
tacomawv's Avatar
Name: Richard
Joined: Oct 2011, #65049
Location: WV
Gender: Male
Posts: 105
tacomawv's Tacoma Gallery
Want to do this but I have question . First let me say that wiring scares me..I have off road lights hooked up to a switch off a relay . So do I just need to take the wire that goes to the switch in the cab from the relay and hook it to the blue relay in the fuse block under the hood. Any help will be great.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:14 AM   #39
Junior Member
AllanJackson is on a distinguished road
Name: Allan
Joined: Dec 2012, #92927
Location: Greenville, SC
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
AllanJackson's Tacoma Gallery
That's what I understand. But it won't work for me like its supposed to. Best thing is to keep the switch in case you want it to be off even with high beams.. It's nice to have that option
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:02 AM   #40
tacomawv
tacomawv is on a distinguished road
 
tacomawv's Avatar
Name: Richard
Joined: Oct 2011, #65049
Location: WV
Gender: Male
Posts: 105
tacomawv's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks. I am going to try it. I will report back. With all of the pictures I hope I can figure it out.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY: Fog Lights on with High Beams (Brights) FREE! Ostrichsak 2nd Gen. Tacomas 108 04-07-2014 04:57 PM
How do u make the fog lights work with brights Tiresize33 2nd Gen. Tacomas 11 10-17-2011 06:42 PM
Tail lights, brights not working chonko Technical Chat 3 02-11-2011 08:10 AM
Fog lights on with Brights / Hi beams Black Rock Taco 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 09-11-2009 02:14 PM
Having all lights on at once, Brights, Dims, and Fog. luk8272 2nd Gen. Tacomas 17 06-28-2008 07:46 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.