Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

2013 4cyl Prerunnner w/ SR5

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-19-2013, 03:18 PM   #1
feeddamita [OP] feeddamita is offline
Junior Member
feeddamita is on a distinguished road
Army:
Joined: Jan 2013, #95559
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
feeddamita's Tacoma Gallery
2013 4cyl Prerunnner w/ SR5

Called the dealer, they said my truck has pre-wiring already installed for fog lights.

I'm trying to locate the wiring, but cannot seem to find it. Does anyone else have a new 2013?

I've looked up underneath the wheel / and also near radiator....

Could someone post a picture of what the wiring is supposed to look like? I've literally read every fog light thread to no avail.

I'm a picture type of guy. Dealer wanted 500 for the installation... jokes.com

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
I don't think any 4-cyl are prewired.
Definitely not the regular cab.

Open the underhood fuse/relay box. On the cover, locate the position for the Fog relay.
Look at that spot. If you can see brass contacts down inside the plastic, you are prewired. If you see no contacts, just black plastic, you are not wired.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:33 PM   #3
feeddamita [OP] feeddamita is offline
Junior Member
feeddamita is on a distinguished road
Army:
Joined: Jan 2013, #95559
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
feeddamita's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
I don't think any 4-cyl are prewired.
Definitely not the regular cab.

Open the underhood fuse/relay box. On the cover, locate the position for the Fog relay.
Look at that spot. If you can see brass contacts down inside the plastic, you are prewired. If you see no contacts, just black plastic, you are not wired.
Will the position be labeled on the cover of the box???
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by feeddamita View Post
Will the position be labeled on the cover of the box???
Yes... all fuse and relay positions are labeled on the covers of whatever boxes or access panels. Vehicles have been made that way for 20 years or better.
It is a generic label and will show the positions of parts for options not found on your vehicle... even my 5-lug (no fogs or towing package available) shows the positions for cruise, trailer brakes, etc....
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:38 PM   #5
feeddamita [OP] feeddamita is offline
Junior Member
feeddamita is on a distinguished road
Army:
Joined: Jan 2013, #95559
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
feeddamita's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
Yes... all fuse and relay positions are labeled on the covers of whatever boxes or access panels. Vehicles have been made that way for 20 years or better.
It is a generic label and will show the positions of parts for options not found on your vehicle... even my 5-lug (no fogs or towing package available) shows the positions for cruise, trailer brakes, etc....
Thanks for the quick reply. Also, so you don't think I will see any wiring taped up in a nook or cranny? Just something in the fuse box...?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
First place I would look is for the contact pins in the relay socket.

If you have those, then you can spend the time looking under the bumper for the harnesses and in the dash for the switch connector. You will need to buy the housings, switch, relay, and probably a fuse.

If there are no contacts in the fuse box, then you'll need to build your own harness in addition to buying the lights.
Part number PT297-35070-SH is a 6-wire lighted switch and harness from the FJ Cruiser's driving lights. Add a relay and couple of fuses and you're set. It'll fit right into the dash openings left of the wheel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 04:04 PM   #7
feeddamita [OP] feeddamita is offline
Junior Member
feeddamita is on a distinguished road
Army:
Joined: Jan 2013, #95559
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
feeddamita's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
First place I would look is for the contact pins in the relay socket.

If you have those, then you can spend the time looking under the bumper for the harnesses and in the dash for the switch connector. You will need to buy the housings, switch, relay, and probably a fuse.

If there are no contacts in the fuse box, then you'll need to build your own harness in addition to buying the lights.
Part number PT297-35070-SH is a 6-wire lighted switch and harness from the FJ Cruiser's driving lights. Add a relay and couple of fuses and you're set. It'll fit right into the dash openings left of the wheel.
Just checked my fuse box, I found where the fog light one should be. There are contact pins in the relay socket.

I think I'm on the right track... if anyone has a picture where they're stashing the wire bundle on the 13's please post it!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 04:07 PM   #8
feeddamita [OP] feeddamita is offline
Junior Member
feeddamita is on a distinguished road
Army:
Joined: Jan 2013, #95559
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
feeddamita's Tacoma Gallery
I wanna make sure I have the harness first before I go digging in the dash. I already have a housing for the lights, I think I just need the switch, relay and fuse...
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 04:21 PM   #9
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
The OEM switch position is upper left, so you'll need to drop the lower dash panel and pull the cluster panel out a bit to find it.

Being prewired, don't buy the switch I posted... the Tacoma switch is a 4-wire and they go for about $40.

http://parts.camelbacktoyota.com/par...0LAMP%20SWITCH

The relay is $20:
http://parts.camelbacktoyota.com/par...omponent=Relay
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 04:58 PM   #10
feeddamita [OP] feeddamita is offline
Junior Member
feeddamita is on a distinguished road
Army:
Joined: Jan 2013, #95559
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
feeddamita's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
The OEM switch position is upper left, so you'll need to drop the lower dash panel and pull the cluster panel out a bit to find it.

Being prewired, don't buy the switch I posted... the Tacoma switch is a 4-wire and they go for about $40.

http://parts.camelbacktoyota.com/par...0LAMP%20SWITCH

The relay is $20:
http://parts.camelbacktoyota.com/par...omponent=Relay
Thanks for the help with the dash stuff!


ANYONE out there with a 2013??? who knows where the wire harness is hiding?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 Sage Green 4cyl SR5 adrstout 2nd Gen. Tacomas 9 02-26-2012 11:30 AM
Farva's Build: 1998 SR5 2.7L 4Cyl Farva 1st Gen. Builds 6 02-23-2012 08:02 PM
2011 sr5 access cab 4cyl dieselguy Lighting 2 11-07-2010 05:39 PM
So I traded my 06 4cyl SR5 4wd.......... eight6four_taco New Members 9 07-19-2010 08:44 PM
Location of ECM for 98 4cyl SR5 GaryV 1st Gen. Tacomas 4 03-30-2010 12:02 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.