Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Wire 2 Switches to 1 set of lights? Can It be done?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2013, 08:19 AM   #1
Junior Member
Toyotaco1670 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2013, #94763
Location: Florida
Gender: Female
Posts: 14
Toyotaco1670's Tacoma Gallery
Wire 2 Switches to 1 set of lights? Can It be done?

I have a set of lights in the back of my truck. I'd like to wire one switch in the cab and another switch in the back of the truck. Can it be done? If so how? Does anyone have a wire diagram?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:34 AM   #3
Junior Member
Mikey560 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jun 2012, #80627
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Mikey560's Tacoma Gallery
http://micahgallant.com/2011/06/25/visualizing-3-ways
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:37 AM   #4
Red
Large is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2011, #63268
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,105
Large's Tacoma Gallery
You want a 3-way switch. You would need 2 DPDT switches and 2 positives running parallel between each switch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:45 AM   #5
Red
Large is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2011, #63268
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,105
Large's Tacoma Gallery

Pardon the crude drawing.
You wouldn't tap in to where the switches prongs are, there would be 2 sets of them for each DPDT switch, just put them in the right spot or you will keep popping fuses.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:46 AM   #6
Red
Large is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shedLarge is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2011, #63268
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,105
Large's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikey560 View Post
I should probably read the other posts before I whip out paint this is a better diagram.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:27 AM   #7
Space Shuttle Door Gunner
ROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ROGU3 PR3DATOR's Avatar
Air Force: EOD Tech
Name: Jake
Joined: Aug 2010, #41451
Location: Clearfield Utah
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,046
ROGU3 PR3DATOR's Tacoma Gallery
Here is how I wired mine for that exact purpose, But I also wanted the switch to illuminate with the lights in the bed as an indicator. End result with my setup is one light on my switch comes on with the headlights, the other when the bed lights are on, no matter what position the in cab switch is in. Only difference in wiring is that I tied the dash lights to the lower light and the bed lights to the upper light in the switch. That way the words illuminate with the headlights. After I did this I also discovered that tapping into the dash light circuits also ties into the dimmer.



Bed switch:


Cab Switch:
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:56 PM   #9
Space Shuttle Door Gunner
ROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ROGU3 PR3DATOR's Avatar
Air Force: EOD Tech
Name: Jake
Joined: Aug 2010, #41451
Location: Clearfield Utah
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,046
ROGU3 PR3DATOR's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2chains View Post
Nice work ROGU3! Love that switch! Did you need a relay?
Thanks, and no, I didnt bother with a relay mainly because I didnt think it was necessary for just an led strip. That and I wanted the lights to work with the truck off. And I guess I should point out that I am not taking power directly from the battery. The circuit is fused via an Aux fuse block which is where the power comes from.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:59 PM   #10
Member
staymates788 is on a distinguished road
Law Enforcement:
Name: SEAN
Joined: Aug 2012, #85931
Location: Anaheim, CA USA
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 58
staymates788's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROGU3 PR3DATOR View Post
Thanks, and no, I didnt bother with a relay mainly because I didnt think it was necessary for just an led strip. That and I wanted the lights to work with the truck off. And I guess I should point out that I am not taking power directly from the battery. The circuit is fused via an Aux fuse block which is where the power comes from.
Do you have a picture of the lights in the bed? I'm curious how the "marker" set up is.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:03 PM   #11
Space Shuttle Door Gunner
ROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ROGU3 PR3DATOR's Avatar
Air Force: EOD Tech
Name: Jake
Joined: Aug 2010, #41451
Location: Clearfield Utah
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,046
ROGU3 PR3DATOR's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by staymates788 View Post
Do you have a picture of the lights in the bed? I'm curious how the "marker" set up is.
Not sure what you mean by marker set up, but here are the photos:

Daytime:


Nighttime:
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:20 PM   #12
Member
staymates788 is on a distinguished road
Law Enforcement:
Name: SEAN
Joined: Aug 2012, #85931
Location: Anaheim, CA USA
Age: 31
Gender: Male
Posts: 58
staymates788's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROGU3 PR3DATOR View Post
Not sure what you mean by marker set up, but here are the photos:

"But I also wanted the switch to illuminate with the lights in the bed as an indicator. "
^^ I read that wrong, my bad.

That's a awesome set up... Putting it on my To-Do list!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
claymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant futureclaymore has a brilliant future
 
claymore's Avatar
Name: Clay
Joined: Aug 2012, #84090
Location: ABQ New Mexico
Gender: Male
Posts: 352
claymore's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROGU3 PR3DATOR View Post
Not sure what you mean by marker set up, but here are the photos:

Daytime:


Nighttime:
How do you have the high lift and cables attached up there? Looks good!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:54 PM   #15
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Great circuit Rogu3.

Large... Dafuk is that?

Rogu3... that is a very creative way to maintain an indicator light on the dash. Most switches won't allow for that because one leg of the indicator is connected to the "output", and of course, that alternates with the 3-way switch.

Caution to those planning this that you are going to need a specific OTTRAW switch that has isolated terminals for the indicator.
A SPDT will work fine if that is available with the isolated lamps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:56 PM   #16
Internet Winner
TeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shedTeamSarcasm is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
TeamSarcasm's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2011, #51510
Location: The better coast
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,183
TeamSarcasm's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post

Large... Dafuk is that?
That sir is Microsoft Paint

Jkjk Large, better than anything I can do and more than I have contributed to this thread
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:59 PM   #17
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamSarcasm View Post
That sir is Microsoft Paint

Jkjk Large, better than anything I can do and more than I have contributed to this thread
Ya... I use paint all the time.
I used it to make "CAD" drawings that I'd send to our San Jose office because the boss wouldn't buy a 2nd license.

But he's got an extra wire going to the light from the left switch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:18 PM   #18
Space Shuttle Door Gunner
ROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shedROGU3 PR3DATOR is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ROGU3 PR3DATOR's Avatar
Air Force: EOD Tech
Name: Jake
Joined: Aug 2010, #41451
Location: Clearfield Utah
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,046
ROGU3 PR3DATOR's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
Great circuit Rogu3.
that is a very creative way to maintain an indicator light on the dash. Most switches won't allow for that because one leg of the indicator is connected to the "output", and of course, that alternates with the 3-way switch.

Caution to those planning this that you are going to need a specific OTTRAW switch that has isolated terminals for the indicator.
A SPDT will work fine if that is available with the isolated lamps.
Thanks, I ended up using the switch OTRATTW offered that had two independently wired amber LEDs, but having looked for another one recently, I could not find the same switch body on their site.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich91710 View Post
Ya... I use paint all the time.
I used it to make "CAD" drawings that I'd send to our San Jose office because the boss wouldn't buy a 2nd license.

But he's got an extra wire going to the light from the left switch.
The extra wire is what provides power to the top light in the switch and acts as an indicator, but is unaffected by switch position. That way whenever the bed lights are on, so is the top portion of the switch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:26 PM   #19
Junior Member
Toyotaco1670 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Jan 2013, #94763
Location: Florida
Gender: Female
Posts: 14
Toyotaco1670's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for all the great info and diagram!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:13 PM   #20
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROGU3 PR3DATOR View Post
The extra wire is what provides power to the top light in the switch and acts as an indicator, but is unaffected by switch position. That way whenever the bed lights are on, so is the top portion of the switch.
I was referring to Large's cluster that didn't show where anything was connected to anything and showed two wires running to the light plus the ground.
Quote:
Thanks, I ended up using the switch OTRATTW offered that had two independently wired amber LEDs, but having looked for another one recently, I could not find the same switch body on their site.
Ya, I was looking for one for a thread a while back and the only solution I could come up with was to run a separate indicator light.
Too bad the OEM FJ Cruiser switch is a SPST... if it were a DT you could use it since the indicator is separate.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added some lights, some switches, and some more lights... Look at me now! dud122 Lighting 14 06-18-2014 12:20 AM
Bed lights 2 Switches CayucosTacoma 2nd Gen. Tacomas 22 03-06-2013 02:50 PM
New switches, lights = new problems!!! RacerAV Lighting 23 12-15-2012 08:16 PM
switches for lights Pre runner2011 2nd Gen. Tacomas 12 02-12-2012 11:38 AM
i cant find the thread for switches for the top set on the dash j1999t 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 12-01-2009 09:49 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.