Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Do I have this right: Wiring Hellas

Reply
 
Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2013, 11:17 AM   #1
calebm12 [OP] calebm12 is online now
Member
calebm12 is on a distinguished road
 
calebm12's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2012, #92305
Location: MD
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
calebm12's Tacoma Gallery
Do I have this right: Wiring Hellas

Been reading through various threads, but this is first time wiring, so i want to confirm i have the correct instructions before having at it.

I have attached a pic of what i have. In addition, i bought an "add a fuse".

My understanding is this.
Light Assembly: Blue wires are grounded, black wires are connected to black wire from relay
Relay: Red wire is attached to (+) terminal of battery, blue wire is grounded, black wire is attached to black wires from light assembly, yellow wire is run through the firewall and attached to the switch.
Switch: Accepts yellow wire from relay, blue wire is attached and grounded, green wire is attached to my add a fuse which can be put inserted in the fuse box on drivers side to a circuit that is only live when car is on.

Is this accurate.
My wiring goal being that the lights will work only when the car is turned on....and will go off if i accidently leave the switch on when the ACC is cut.

The swich i am using is http://www.ebay.com/itm/181043710681...84.m1497.l2649

The package that came with the hella's also included a blue plastic thing that i am guessing is used to tap into the main lights. This is not necessary correct?

Really appreciate the help.
Attached Thumbnails
Do I have this right: Wiring Hellas-wires.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 02:37 PM   #2
New guy
Ryan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Ryan DCFS's Avatar
EMS: Paramedic/ff reserve
Name: Ryan
Joined: Feb 2012, #73605
Location: East Bay Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 650
Ryan DCFS's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by calebm12 View Post
Been reading through various threads, but this is first time wiring, so i want to confirm i have the correct instructions before having at it.

I have attached a pic of what i have. In addition, i bought an "add a fuse".

My understanding is this.
Light Assembly: Blue wires are grounded, black wires are connected to black wire from relay
Relay: Red wire is attached to (+) terminal of battery, blue wire is grounded, black wire is attached to black wires from light assembly, yellow wire is run through the firewall and attached to the switch.
Switch: Accepts yellow wire from relay, blue wire is attached and grounded, green wire is attached to my add a fuse which can be put inserted in the fuse box on drivers side to a circuit that is only live when car is on.

Is this accurate.
My wiring goal being that the lights will work only when the car is turned on....and will go off if i accidently leave the switch on when the ACC is cut.

The swich i am using is http://www.ebay.com/itm/181043710681...84.m1497.l2649

The package that came with the hella's also included a blue plastic thing that i am guessing is used to tap into the main lights. This is not necessary correct?

Really appreciate the help.
If the wire colors connect as follows;

Pin 30: Red
Pin 87: Black
Pin 86: Yellow
Pin 85: Blue

Then that wiring Should be Correct. I see that the red has an inline fuse, and you plan on using an add-a-fuse, so you should be good to go. The blue plastic piece is a wire-tap, I would also assume that it is there if you wanted to get power from an existing circuit, like the headlamps.

For the switch: Green is the source (to add-a-fuse), yellow is load, and blue is ground. The ground on the switch is there to activate the indicator light on the switch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 02:44 PM   #3
calebm12 [OP] calebm12 is online now
Member
calebm12 is on a distinguished road
 
calebm12's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2012, #92305
Location: MD
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
calebm12's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks. Got about 2/3rd of the way through this evening and then realized that the fuse tap i have is for the normal size fuses, and i need the mini size. Hopefully i can find a local store that carries one tomm morn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 02:50 PM   #4
New guy
Ryan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Ryan DCFS's Avatar
EMS: Paramedic/ff reserve
Name: Ryan
Joined: Feb 2012, #73605
Location: East Bay Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 650
Ryan DCFS's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by calebm12 View Post
Thanks. Got about 2/3rd of the way through this evening and then realized that the fuse tap i have is for the normal size fuses, and i need the mini size. Hopefully i can find a local store that carries one tomm morn.
I did the same thing the first time I tried to add something.

Make sure that whatever fuse you're tapping into, have a standard "mini fuse" of the same size, the stock fuses are "low profile mini" and they wont fit in the fuse tap. IIRC the fuse tap kit comes with 3a, 5a, and 10a standard mini fuses; If you're tapping into a 10a circuit you can use the 10 that came with the kit, as you can use the 3a for the added switch circuit (switch should use well under 0.5a).
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 02:55 PM   #5
calebm12 [OP] calebm12 is online now
Member
calebm12 is on a distinguished road
 
calebm12's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2012, #92305
Location: MD
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
calebm12's Tacoma Gallery
just so i dont make this same mistake twice. this is what i am after correct. i can either add it into an empty slot, or pull the fuse of a used slot and enter it there and then add the fuse i took out and a fuse for the switch?
http://www.amazon.com/Bussmann-BP-HH...xgy_auto_img_y
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 03:04 PM   #6
New guy
Ryan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shedRyan DCFS is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Ryan DCFS's Avatar
EMS: Paramedic/ff reserve
Name: Ryan
Joined: Feb 2012, #73605
Location: East Bay Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 650
Ryan DCFS's Tacoma Gallery
Yes (I think that's a mini add-a-fuse - Hard to tell)



The low-profile mini is what is in the truck, the add-a-fuse isn't compatible with the low pro, but the regular mini will fit in the place of a low-pro one...

If that makes sense... lol

Edit: I don't remember which circuit I added mine to, but I do know that it's hot on ACC, and I pulled a fuse out and used it in the A-A-F.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 03:54 PM   #7
calebm12 [OP] calebm12 is online now
Member
calebm12 is on a distinguished road
 
calebm12's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2012, #92305
Location: MD
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
calebm12's Tacoma Gallery
thanks for all your help....much appreciated. will give it a go tomm.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Products Discussed in this Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring up hellas Stockmonester Lighting 3 06-19-2011 06:08 AM
new hellas..now where? xwillx93 Lighting 8 05-01-2011 03:51 PM
New Hellas...Now where to mount? xwillx93 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 02-25-2011 03:50 PM
Where to mount HELLAS KEG'sTACO Lighting 10 09-18-2010 12:23 PM
Who needs some Hellas? GA_TACO4x4 Buy / Sell / Trade 22 06-11-2010 08:41 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.