Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

can i use my fog light relay for off road lights

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2013, 12:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
blaks 06 pre is on a distinguished road
 
blaks 06 pre's Avatar
Name: brandon
Joined: Nov 2012, #91826
Location: kent,WA
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
blaks 06 pre's Tacoma Gallery
can i use my fog light relay for off road lights

So I have a 2006 pre runner with no fog lights can I use the fog light relay to run my off road lights
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:20 PM   #2
SoCal Tacomas
Jerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Jerez's Avatar
Name: Roderick
Joined: Feb 2010, #30488
Location: Ontario/Chino Area (CALI)
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,928
Jerez's Tacoma Gallery
So you're truck came with no fogs? And you know for sure it has the relay?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:23 PM   #3
That one guy
Aw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shedAw9d is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Aw9d's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2011, #66635
Location: Az
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,755
Aw9d's Tacoma Gallery
If the relay is there, then sure you can use it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:24 PM   #4
I need to go return some videotapes...
Seabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Seabass's Avatar
Name: Adam
Joined: Apr 2010, #34455
Location: AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,641
Seabass's Tacoma Gallery
Depends on the amperage of your off-road lights, which are probably too high for the fog relay. Best to use the fog relay to activate another new relay for your other lights.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:05 AM   #5
Junior Member
blaks 06 pre is on a distinguished road
 
blaks 06 pre's Avatar
Name: brandon
Joined: Nov 2012, #91826
Location: kent,WA
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
blaks 06 pre's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seabass View Post
Depends on the amperage of your off-road lights, which are probably too high for the fog relay. Best to use the fog relay to activate another new relay for your other lights.
My Pisa are 110watts together pulling about 10 amps and from another post I read that the relay can handle 15 amps
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:08 AM   #6
Junior Member
blaks 06 pre is on a distinguished road
 
blaks 06 pre's Avatar
Name: brandon
Joined: Nov 2012, #91826
Location: kent,WA
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
blaks 06 pre's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerez View Post
So you're truck came with no fogs? And you know for sure it has the relay?
Yea they had no fogs so I bought a switch and a got a factory relay from the junk yard to test them
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:11 AM   #7
SoCal Tacomas
Jerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shedJerez is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Jerez's Avatar
Name: Roderick
Joined: Feb 2010, #30488
Location: Ontario/Chino Area (CALI)
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,928
Jerez's Tacoma Gallery
Ya iirc, the stock relay is 15 amps with a either 10 or 15 amp fuse

Alot of guys who run aftermarket lights when they add a tube or plate bumper and just wire them into their stock wiring/relay/switch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:24 AM   #8
Pasti-Dip Free Since 1983
Pugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shedPugga is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Pugga's Avatar
Name: Mike
Joined: Jun 2010, #39131
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 27,670
Pugga's Tacoma Gallery
You can use the stock relay to run those lights but do not oversize the fuse. The stock fog light fuse I believe is only a 10A fuse. The fuse will blow before you have any issues with the relay.

There are 2 members local to me who have tried to run PIAA 510 lights off the stock fog light wiring. One was successful, the other one keeps blowing fuses. The PIAA's draw 9.2A so you're right at the upper limit of what the stock 10A fuse will handle. I've got 2 pairs of PIAA 520 lights, one will run on a 10A fuse, the other pair won't so it'll be hit or miss whether your stock fog light wiring will work for your lights.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:39 AM   #9
I need to go return some videotapes...
Seabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Seabass's Avatar
Name: Adam
Joined: Apr 2010, #34455
Location: AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,641
Seabass's Tacoma Gallery
I tried to run my PIAA fogs off of that factory fog light circuit and I popped it immediately. Had to wire them into my Blu-Sea fuse block and just use the fog circuit as the trigger only.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone know the specs of the fog light relay? iroc409 2nd Gen. Tacomas 6 10-18-2013 02:28 PM
fog light relay help Botzitaliano Lighting 10 06-01-2011 05:41 PM
Fog Light Relay 2009 jrdbrn 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 05-09-2011 07:10 PM
WTB: Fog light switch and relay soilsample Buy / Sell / Trade 0 03-16-2010 05:55 PM
Yet another Fog Light Relay Question. 400lbGorilla 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 01-12-2010 01:30 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.