Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

3 wires 5 pins, need some help!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2013, 06:01 PM   #1
ERMB [OP] ERMB is offline
Senior Member
ERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ERMB's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2011, #52813
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 423
ERMB's Tacoma Gallery
3 wires 5 pins, need some help!

So I bought this fog light switch on ebay. I recently installed a fog light harness kit from tundrapart.com. $39.bucks shipped. Easy install, works great, only problem is it comes with a crappy switch. Thought I got a good deal on a oem switch, but now that I see the connection on the back I've run into a snag. All the threads I've researched showed a switch with 4 pins on the back. Some of the threads showed combining pins 3/4 which illuminates the switch which is exactly what I wanted, since I only have three wires coming from my fog light kit to my current switch.
My new switch has 5 pinsand I have no idea what pin controls what.
Does anyone have this switch? Have a diagram, have good suggestions on how to proceed? Any help would be very much appreciated.3 wires 5 pins, need some help!-uploadfromtaptalk1367024424765.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
3 wires 5 pins, need some help!-uploadfromtaptalk1367024447213.jpg   3 wires 5 pins, need some help!-uploadfromtaptalk1367024467933.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Never seen that switch before. It's certainly an OEM style... maybe from Scion or Nissan/Honda/Hyundai.

If you have an ohmmeter, you can check the pins to confirm what's what.

MOST LIKELY, the two pins by themselves are the illumination for the icon. Connect those to the dash illumination.
Of the remaining 3, one is going to be the power source (IGN, RADIO, TAIL, etc...), one will be the switched output to the fog relay, and the 3rd will be the ground for the indicator lamp.

With a meter, the resistance between the hot and ground for the two lights will not change when you change the switch position.
The supply power to the light's hot will switch from "OL" to "0".
If you get a reading above "0", then you are metering the supply power to the indicator lamp ground.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
But I don't think that switch is going to fit the cutouts on the left side of the dash properly.

You really need the FJ kit....
http://www.toyotatrdparts.com/Script...?idproduct=-59

  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 08:06 AM   #4
ERMB [OP] ERMB is offline
Senior Member
ERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shedERMB is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ERMB's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2011, #52813
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Male
Posts: 423
ERMB's Tacoma Gallery
Thank you for the info. Now i need to learn how to use the meter I bought. So if I only have 3 wires leading to my current switch, do I leave the 2 other pins blank or do I combine somehow like I've seen on some other threads?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,537
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Simplest wiring would be
1 - Common ground to both indicator lights
2 - Control hot
3 - Switched output to relay
4 - Icon illumination

With only 3 wires, you likely don't have the illumination wire.

Here's an example based on the 6-pin FJ Cruiser switch above.
This will translate to your switch, but without having the switch in front of me, I can't tell you how.



  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to run wires (Power, RCA and speaker wires) Madjik_Man Audio & Video 4 11-09-2012 08:02 PM
What pins does +/- go to on non-JBL radio? Whitster Audio & Video 1 12-03-2011 10:58 AM
hood pins rhys 2nd Gen. Tacomas 10 10-11-2011 08:24 AM
Caliper tension pins sfetty 2nd Gen. Tacomas 10 05-28-2010 10:04 AM
Emblem pins??? Coyotetrack 2nd Gen. Tacomas 14 10-21-2008 12:30 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.