Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Blowing Fuses!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2013, 03:21 PM   #1
Dafinga [OP] Dafinga is offline
Junior Member
Dafinga is on a distinguished road
Name: Pete
Joined: Mar 2013, #99994
Location: N. Cali
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Dafinga's Tacoma Gallery
Blowing Fuses!

Hi Folks,

I am running 2 sets of ADV monster 44's in my Brute Force bumper. One set is split and runs two amber LED's with the driving lights and the other set is wired to my factory fog light switch. The second set of LED 44's are straight fogs. I am running them to a OTRATTW switch. This set of LED's runs fine for a while and then after I turn them on and off maybe 5 times, the 7.5 amp fuse blows. these LED's are supposed to draw 1.8 amps. I have another OTRATTW switch that runs my lightbar and The wiring is identical. I am not sure where I should start my troubleshooting. I did rewire the lights last weekend to make sure there were no issues with loose wires.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 03:26 PM   #2
Must go to Mountains, Desert
Crom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shedCrom is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Crom's Avatar
Name: Mr. Sir
Joined: Jun 2009, #18782
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 36
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,712
Crom's Tacoma Gallery
Impossible to diagnose over the Internet but I'd use an ammeter in series with the lights in question and measure the current of the circuit. Most inexpensive multimeters can be configured as an ammeter and have 10A fuses, the better ones can measure up to 20A.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 06:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
Boilerman is just really niceBoilerman is just really niceBoilerman is just really niceBoilerman is just really niceBoilerman is just really nice
 
Boilerman's Avatar
Name: Brian
Joined: Apr 2010, #35501
Location: Texas, northwest of the Big Pond
Age: 47
Gender: Male
Posts: 411
Boilerman's Tacoma Gallery
Sounds like a bad ground. Had the same problem wiring my aftermarket fogs, kept blowing the fuse. Found a better ground and no problems since.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 12:14 AM   #4
Member
crooks420 is on a distinguished road
 
crooks420's Avatar
Name: Jesse
Joined: Oct 2009, #24135
Location: San Gabriel
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
crooks420's Tacoma Gallery
Can you tell me how you wired the fogs????
I have a 2012, with factory fog lights. I want to add another set of fogs on my pre-runner light bar, wired to the factory fog light switch. So when I hit the fog switch, both my factory and aftermarket fog lights come on.

Any help would be appreciated.

jesse
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuses keep blowing dalucca 2nd Gen. Tacomas 14 06-02-2012 10:22 AM
blowing fuses nb_tacoma Lighting 4 01-12-2012 02:07 PM
T-Harness Blowing Fuses rooftopfall Towing 5 01-05-2012 01:42 AM
i need help please guys i keep blowing fuses George Rockwell 1st Gen. Tacomas 4 03-29-2011 06:39 PM
Fuses keeps blowing 1997tacoma 1st Gen. Tacomas 8 03-16-2011 04:53 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.