Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Help! Need a "hot wire"

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2013, 06:22 PM   #1
danteisme [OP] danteisme is offline
Senior Member
danteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2008, #4248
Location: pittsburgh
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,165
danteisme's Tacoma Gallery
Help! Need a "hot wire"

i have everything hooked up for my bed lights except for the switch. i dont want to have it so i have to have my marker lights on for the bed lights to work. can anyone point me in the direction for something that is hot without the truck being on or without the marker lights being on so i can finishing hooking up my otrattw switch?

i dont want to run another lead from the battery just for this switch. its powered via relay from my aux. fuse box.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 06:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
nfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shednfs257 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
nfs257's Avatar
Navy: GSM1
Name: Chris
Joined: Jun 2011, #58691
Location: San Diego
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,698
nfs257's Tacoma Gallery
Most of the fuses under the dash work in the ignition...
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 06:28 PM   #3
The Sailing Memebr
anders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shedanders99 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
anders99's Avatar
Name: Matthew
Joined: May 2013, #105101
Location: Niceville, Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,531
anders99's Tacoma Gallery
What I did for some extra lighting was run a wire to the battery with an inline fuse to a switch. So if the truck is off I can still turn them on
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 05:47 AM   #4
danteisme [OP] danteisme is offline
Senior Member
danteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2008, #4248
Location: pittsburgh
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,165
danteisme's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfs257 View Post
Most of the fuses under the dash work in the ignition...
are any of them hot without the ignition on? my old chevy truck had cab lights that were switch activated. did not need the lights to be on or the truck to be on, key in, or anything. trying to duplicate that setup.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 05:48 AM   #5
danteisme [OP] danteisme is offline
Senior Member
danteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2008, #4248
Location: pittsburgh
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,165
danteisme's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by anders99 View Post
What I did for some extra lighting was run a wire to the battery with an inline fuse to a switch. So if the truck is off I can still turn them on
if i had not run a relay and if i ran a simple 2 prong switch, that would work
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 05:53 AM   #6
Resident Otaku
Gaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGaunt596 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Gaunt596's Avatar
Name: Matthew
Joined: Jun 2013, #106627
Location: Central Maryland
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,111
Gaunt596's Tacoma Gallery
im pretty sure the fuse box has some hot fuses, or if you poke around im sure theirs a wire or two you could tap, BUT IMO its cleaner and safer to keep all your wiring separate from the factory, this also makes it easier to fix if something in the factory wiring fails.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
joes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Joe
Joined: Jan 2010, #28588
Location: Central Coast, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,077
joes06tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Exactly what do you have installed already?

Where is the relay located?

Where is your switch located?

Depending on where everything is located, it may be easier to switch the ground on the relay, which won't require another hot wire.

The fuse in the interior block which powers the cigarette lighter and aux power outlet is hot all the time, even though those outlets are not. I have an ATM type add-a-circuit in that slot for my camper shell lights.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 01:18 PM   #8
!@$%#
robssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shedrobssol is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
robssol's Avatar
Name: Rob
Joined: Jun 2013, #105622
Location: S. Wisconsin
Gender: Guy
Posts: 1,370
robssol's Tacoma Gallery
There are spade terminals in the main fuse box that are always live. I used one of those for my bed lights. I used LEDs so no relay required. Fishing wires through the firewall is no fun, but may be necessary.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 04:03 PM   #9
Member
oldguy128 is on a distinguished road
 
oldguy128's Avatar
Name: GARY
Joined: Oct 2013, #113935
Location: Southbury CT
Gender: Male
Posts: 36
oldguy128's Tacoma Gallery
How many amps does your lights draw, if its over 2 amps which i assume it is, use a #10 wire to a fuse with more then rating of the lights, example if the lights draw 20 amps, use a 30 amps fuse, then have it go to to the wiper of a heavy duty relay, use this one its cheap and it should do it.

http://www.autozone.com/autozone/acc...er=203873_0_0_

then wire one side of the coil to truck ground, the other side to any small switch which is wired to any point that is always hot in the cab fuse block run your lights one side to ground and the other to the open contact on the relay total cost $10.00 good luck do you need me to draw you a diagram? just ask

Gary
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 06:56 PM   #10
danteisme [OP] danteisme is offline
Senior Member
danteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud ofdanteisme has much to be proud of
Joined: Jan 2008, #4248
Location: pittsburgh
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,165
danteisme's Tacoma Gallery
thanks everyone, got it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 06:57 PM   #11
Senior Member
dan33900 is on a distinguished road
 
dan33900's Avatar
Name: Dan
Joined: Sep 2012, #86844
Location: Maumelle, Arkansas
Gender: Male
Posts: 131
dan33900's Tacoma Gallery
You can always go to the battery wire in your trailer hitch plug.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Help" "2.4 Tacoma ground wire" RafyTRD 4 Cylinder 0 02-10-2013 08:02 PM
need help finding "hot" wire under bed kjf216 Technical Chat 4 02-10-2010 03:22 PM
Way to make the DC receps "constant hot" when vehicle is off? StaticFilter Technical Chat 7 05-23-2009 12:25 PM
cigarette lighter to constant "hot" OU812 2nd Gen. Tacomas 3 09-03-2008 01:25 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.