Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Wiring 2 relays to 1 switch?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-22-2014, 11:27 AM   #1
Senior Member
spartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
spartanhockey6's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Trevor
Joined: Nov 2010, #45862
Location: Northern Territory, Australia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 276
spartanhockey6's Tacoma Gallery
Wiring 2 relays to 1 switch?

Hey guys, I have a quick question about my current wiring setup for my 4 55w hella 500's.

Right now i have 2 lights> 1 relay>1 switch and then the other 2 lights> 1 relay> 1 switch.

I currently have the two switches unsecured in the coin/ashtray under the factory switches/blanks. (really annoying)

What I would like is to use one of the factory blank spots for a switch to power on/off all 4 lights instead of finding a place to mount two seperate switches.

I've tried doing some research but am not 100% confident in my electrical knowledge lol. Would it be as simple as taking the power wire from relay (A) to the switch (A) and splicing it into the power wire from relay (B) to switch (B)? and then just connecting relay (B) to the new switch?

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 12:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
Supermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shedSupermoto is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Supermoto's Avatar
Name: Landon
Joined: Feb 2012, #72373
Location: Encinitas/San Diego
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,665
Supermoto's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartanhockey6 View Post
Hey guys, I have a quick question about my current wiring setup for my 4 55w hella 500's.

Right now i have 2 lights> 1 relay>1 switch and then the other 2 lights> 1 relay> 1 switch.

I currently have the two switches unsecured in the coin/ashtray under the factory switches/blanks. (really annoying)

What I would like is to use one of the factory blank spots for a switch to power on/off all 4 lights instead of finding a place to mount two seperate switches.

I've tried doing some research but am not 100% confident in my electrical knowledge lol. Would it be as simple as taking the power wire from relay (A) to the switch (A) and splicing it into the power wire from relay (B) to switch (B)? and then just connecting relay (B) to the new switch?

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!
Absolutely, that's one of the great things about using relays. You can have 1 switch trip multiple relays
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 12:16 PM   #3
Senior Member
llibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shedllibrm is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
llibrm's Avatar
Name: Bill
Joined: Aug 2012, #83890
Location: Convection Oven, Az
Gender: Guy
Posts: 386
llibrm's Tacoma Gallery
you need to add up your draw of the relays coil and make sure that your new switch will carry the load. If they're small relays this should be a non issue, but when you start adding multiple items, a 5 second check could save you a ton of time and money later.

If you have only two relays, you "might" be in the neighborhood of an amp. and your switch "should" carry 5
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 12:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
koditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shedkoditten is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
koditten's Avatar
Name: Kirk
Joined: Sep 2013, #112077
Location: Central Michigan
Gender: Male
Posts: 748
koditten's Tacoma Gallery
If the relay is rated, why not run all 4 lights off the one relay?

Tie all the positives on the lights together and do the same with the negatives. Run a single pair of wires to the relay. 1 switch, 1 relay and 4 lights.

Just need to find out how many watts the relay will carry.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 04:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
spartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shedspartanhockey6 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
spartanhockey6's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Trevor
Joined: Nov 2010, #45862
Location: Northern Territory, Australia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 276
spartanhockey6's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for the info guys!

The two relays i have came with the lights from Hella.

Both relays are 12V/15A and are probably the size of a 1" cube so they're pretty tiny.

Since i already have the relays mounted under the hood i'll probably just connect the two power wires from the relays to the one switch.

What kinda switch do you guys think i should get? 20A? I don't believe my relays are that big and pull enough power so a 20A switch should be good to go?

Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2014, 10:26 PM   #6
Senior Member
joes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shedjoes06tacoma is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Joe
Joined: Jan 2010, #28588
Location: Central Coast, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 3,077
joes06tacoma's Tacoma Gallery
Relays require less than one amp of current to activate. I would run whatever switch you have laying around. I don't think you'll find a automotive switch that is rated less than 3 amps.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Wiring Help Frogsauce Technical Chat 13 06-21-2013 05:08 AM
Rear Light Wiring Switch Plus Backup wiring bootboiler 2nd Gen. Tacomas 0 06-13-2013 11:22 AM
Switch wiring help! knine00 Lighting 22 07-28-2012 02:06 PM
very cool switch panel with built in relays!! timsxr 2nd Gen. Tacomas 14 05-30-2011 07:39 AM
Rollbar with 5 lights/wiring/relays/switches jrcoyote21 Buy / Sell / Trade 13 02-22-2010 04:27 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.