Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Get low beams on the high beam switch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-04-2009, 08:27 AM   #1
PRodecap [OP] PRodecap is offline
Junior Member
PRodecap is on a distinguished road
Name: Pam
Joined: Nov 2009, #25409
Location: Kansas
Gender: Chick
Posts: 8
PRodecap's Tacoma Gallery
Get low beams on the high beam switch

2000 Tacoma I just bought last night. On the high beam switch, I get low beams.....on the low beam switch, I have not lights....on the flash switch I get low beams. What might the problem be? Oh, and the high beam indicator is not on when in the high beam position.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 09:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
slickyd is just really niceslickyd is just really niceslickyd is just really niceslickyd is just really niceslickyd is just really nice
 
slickyd's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Jun 2009, #18130
Location: Alex City, AL
Gender: Male
Posts: 305
slickyd's Tacoma Gallery
Just wondering. How do you know they are low beams and not high beams. the way it sounds is that your low beams are blown. Not trying to sound like and A%^hole. Just wondering.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 10:29 AM   #3
PRodecap [OP] PRodecap is offline
Junior Member
PRodecap is on a distinguished road
Name: Pam
Joined: Nov 2009, #25409
Location: Kansas
Gender: Chick
Posts: 8
PRodecap's Tacoma Gallery
You don't sound like an A%$..........I would think that if the high beams were really on, the high beam indicator light would be on. since it isn't I would think they are low beams...........maybe you are right and I really have high beams and just need to replace the bulbs.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 11:05 AM   #4
Senior Member
slickyd is just really niceslickyd is just really niceslickyd is just really niceslickyd is just really niceslickyd is just really nice
 
slickyd's Avatar
Name: David
Joined: Jun 2009, #18130
Location: Alex City, AL
Gender: Male
Posts: 305
slickyd's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRodecap View Post
You don't sound like an A%$..........I would think that if the high beams were really on, the high beam indicator light would be on. since it isn't I would think they are low beams...........maybe you are right and I really have high beams and just need to replace the bulbs.
Lol oh yeah i forgot about that light.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 11:13 AM   #5
Senior Member
jab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud of
Joined: Sep 2009, #22883
Location: Alabama
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,566
jab08's Tacoma Gallery
Dont know if this would help you out or not, but I just installed a set of HIDs for the low beams and for some reason my high beam indicator light does not come on now. I would try what slickyd said, the 9003 bulb is a dual fillimant bulb. so the low side might just be blown.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 11:55 AM   #6
PRodecap [OP] PRodecap is offline
Junior Member
PRodecap is on a distinguished road
Name: Pam
Joined: Nov 2009, #25409
Location: Kansas
Gender: Chick
Posts: 8
PRodecap's Tacoma Gallery
Is there a separate fuse or bulb for the high beam indicator light? As a side note, the only lights illuminated on the dash (except the area where the speedometer is of course) is the radio. I don't know if that is relevent to anything or if there aren't any (I think I read on-line that the ignition switch was supposed to be illuminated).

I don't see an interior overhead light either for the front part of the cab...only the extended cab section and that light doesn't work either. Will get a bulb for there too.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 12:39 PM   #7
:POOPCORN:
98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
98tacoma27's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Ben
Joined: Dec 2008, #11714
Location: Beech Creek
Gender: Dude
Posts: 48,255
98tacoma27's Tacoma Gallery
Yes, there is. They should be in the engine fuse box on the drivers side under the hood. If you find all the fuses and bulbs to be good, look at the headlight control relay. It should be in the same fuse box. Also, the cab light switch is kinda funny on the first gens. I always had to have the switch just before the "door" setting for it to work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:19 AM   #8
PRodecap [OP] PRodecap is offline
Junior Member
PRodecap is on a distinguished road
Name: Pam
Joined: Nov 2009, #25409
Location: Kansas
Gender: Chick
Posts: 8
PRodecap's Tacoma Gallery
Update...I didn't change out the headlight bulbs as I couldn't figure out how to get the bulb out...I'm not afraid to try things but didn't want to break anything either. There isn't much room around them!

The driver's side light has a funny red wire coming out of it with a fuse in the line but the wire doesn't connect anywhere. I will let the hubby look at this when he gets home from out of town!

I changed the bulb in the overhead light and it worked in the ON position but not the door. I started thoroughly cleaning the vehicle I discovered that someone stuck a penny in the rubber cover on the door switch so that it was always depressed. Once I pushed the button in and out a few times the overhead light now works!

I think someone didn't want the interior illuminated for some reason. i will begin to look at everything else to figure out why the dash doesn't illuminate. I couldn't see a fuse for that...................

  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:30 AM   #9
:POOPCORN:
98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
98tacoma27's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Ben
Joined: Dec 2008, #11714
Location: Beech Creek
Gender: Dude
Posts: 48,255
98tacoma27's Tacoma Gallery
I think that fuse is labeled GAUGE. It should be under the left hand side of the dash. Also, check you dimmer button (left side of dash) to make sure it is turned clockwise. It sounds like there are aftermarket bulbs in the headlights. HID's I think.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:44 AM   #10
PRodecap [OP] PRodecap is offline
Junior Member
PRodecap is on a distinguished road
Name: Pam
Joined: Nov 2009, #25409
Location: Kansas
Gender: Chick
Posts: 8
PRodecap's Tacoma Gallery
I saw the fuse labeled gauge but since the instrument panel does light up (only the entire area above the radio does not) I assumed it wasn't that fuse.

Do you think the headlights are HIDs because of that funny wire? If they are, will I have trouble changing those for the bulbs I got at NAPA last night (the 9003s)?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:04 PM   #11
:POOPCORN:
98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
98tacoma27's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Ben
Joined: Dec 2008, #11714
Location: Beech Creek
Gender: Dude
Posts: 48,255
98tacoma27's Tacoma Gallery
There shouldn't be a red fused wire coming out of it. Try the 9003's. They should work. It sounds like the previous owner was an "amateur" installer or something.

Does this have DTRL? (Day Time Running Lights)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 01:04 PM   #12
PRodecap [OP] PRodecap is offline
Junior Member
PRodecap is on a distinguished road
Name: Pam
Joined: Nov 2009, #25409
Location: Kansas
Gender: Chick
Posts: 8
PRodecap's Tacoma Gallery
I'm not sure....I will check. I bought it at night and don't get home until after dark so haven't driven it yet during the day.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 07:49 PM   #13
PRodecap [OP] PRodecap is offline
Junior Member
PRodecap is on a distinguished road
Name: Pam
Joined: Nov 2009, #25409
Location: Kansas
Gender: Chick
Posts: 8
PRodecap's Tacoma Gallery
Update....We change the bulbs and it did nothing. The weird red switch that went nowhere but has a fuse in the line is a ground wire. There are 3 wires connecting to the headlight bulb and someone attached this wire to one of the wires. If we ground the loose red wire to the battery, we have both low and high beams.......WTF!!!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:10 PM   #14
Senior Member
jab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud of
Joined: Sep 2009, #22883
Location: Alabama
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,566
jab08's Tacoma Gallery
No I dont think those are HIDs from how you are explaining, But I also cant think of any reason why there would be a wire with a fuse coming off of them. But just for refferance this is what a HID kit looks like.


Also the 9003 style wire harness is very confusing!! OK lets see if I can explain without getting myself confused. It has power constantly it is switched on by the ground. But when you switch from high beam back to low beam it switches the grounds. Sorry so vague. This is what I ran into with my HIDs. they would turn on (low beam) then I would switch to high beam they would come on, but then when I switched back to low beam nothing. I would have to turn the lights completly off then back on to get the low beams on. So I had to use a relay and now they work fine. Sorry if I lost you but maby this may help out somehow.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:19 PM   #15
PRodecap [OP] PRodecap is offline
Junior Member
PRodecap is on a distinguished road
Name: Pam
Joined: Nov 2009, #25409
Location: Kansas
Gender: Chick
Posts: 8
PRodecap's Tacoma Gallery
Nope...no kit. It is just the standard buld 9003 but on the driver's side light they spliced in this red wire with a fuse on it but didn't attach it to anything.

Could it be that the ground on the switch went bad so they rigged it this way so the lights would work?

Like I said, if we connect this weird wire to the battery ground terminal, the lights work!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 08:23 PM   #16
Senior Member
jab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud ofjab08 has much to be proud of
Joined: Sep 2009, #22883
Location: Alabama
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,566
jab08's Tacoma Gallery
Sorry, I dont know my brain hurts! This is so confooozing!!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 06:28 AM   #17
:POOPCORN:
98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
98tacoma27's Avatar
Marines:
Name: Ben
Joined: Dec 2008, #11714
Location: Beech Creek
Gender: Dude
Posts: 48,255
98tacoma27's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRodecap View Post
Nope...no kit. It is just the standard buld 9003 but on the driver's side light they spliced in this red wire with a fuse on it but didn't attach it to anything.

Could it be that the ground on the switch went bad so they rigged it this way so the lights would work?

Like I said, if we connect this weird wire to the battery ground terminal, the lights work!

I wonder if the previous owner had some driving lights or fogs hooked up and removed them prior to selling the truck to you. That might explain the splice job.

By the sounds of things, you should be able to just ground that wire to the body or frame and be done with it.

Is there any way you can get us pics of this?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"FOG LIGHTS ON W/PARKING...LOW BEAM...HIGH BEAM..." "OLYMPIC VIEW" Lighting 371 10-22-2014 02:44 PM
Low beam work only in high beam mode 03toytaco 1st Gen. Tacomas 0 02-15-2012 08:36 AM
Low Beams and High Beams on together vegasquarterkit Lighting 10 01-09-2012 02:37 PM
No Low Beams/High Beams Always on jms83 Technical Chat 3 08-26-2011 03:31 AM
Need Help: HID retrofit - High beam works, but low beam doesn't MupxMup Lighting 6 07-20-2011 12:10 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.