Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

HID Fogs and relays

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2009, 03:50 AM   #1
emerson [OP] emerson is offline
Member
emerson has a spectacular aura aboutemerson has a spectacular aura about
Joined: Nov 2009, #25872
Location: seattle
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
emerson's Tacoma Gallery
HID Fogs and relays

hi names pete just picked up a 2010 dc off road. 1st post, been trolling for awhile.

Quick question, getting ready to install ddm 3k'sh into my factory fog lights. I was wondering if you needed a relay or not? Searched didnt come up with too much. Does the factory fogs already come with a relay installed? If i dont need a relay for the fogs could you please explain? thanks!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 09:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
Viet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Viet2100's Avatar
Name: Viet
Joined: Jun 2007, #1930
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,520
Viet2100's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Skype™ to Viet2100
There IS a relay in the engine bay for the fog lights. But, I do recommend using an additional relay harness just to be safe. Post pics when you're done!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 04:14 PM   #3
emerson [OP] emerson is offline
Member
emerson has a spectacular aura aboutemerson has a spectacular aura about
Joined: Nov 2009, #25872
Location: seattle
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
emerson's Tacoma Gallery
Hey thanks viet. Yeah i ll take some pictures when im done.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 05:39 PM   #4
emerson [OP] emerson is offline
Member
emerson has a spectacular aura aboutemerson has a spectacular aura about
Joined: Nov 2009, #25872
Location: seattle
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
emerson's Tacoma Gallery
taken with a camra phone











The headlights are ddm 5k and the fogs are the 3k's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 09:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
Viet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Viet2100's Avatar
Name: Viet
Joined: Jun 2007, #1930
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,520
Viet2100's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Skype™ to Viet2100
Nice!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 08:51 AM   #6
Junior Member
chaztoy is on a distinguished road
Name: chaz
Joined: Nov 2009, #26394
Location: new jersey
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
chaztoy's Tacoma Gallery
need help fog ligths

Quote:
Originally Posted by emerson View Post
hi names pete just picked up a 2010 dc off road. 1st post, been trolling for awhile.

Quick question, getting ready to install ddm 3k'sh into my factory fog lights. I was wondering if you needed a relay or not? Searched didnt come up with too much. Does the factory fogs already come with a relay installed? If i dont need a relay for the fogs could you please explain? thanks!!!
Hi this is chaztoy, having trouble with left fog light. not working. checked fuse and relay no luck
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 09:16 AM   #7
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
T@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shedT@co_Pr3runn3r is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
T@co_Pr3runn3r's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2009, #12767
Location: <----------------->
Gender: Male
Posts: 9,852
T@co_Pr3runn3r's Tacoma Gallery
My fogs are aftermarket wiring harness with oem switch since was base model & had no wiring. The harness I got with the lights has a relay & wired to the battery so would you really need extra wiring for 35w h10 HIDs in the fogs?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 05:05 PM   #8
emerson [OP] emerson is offline
Member
emerson has a spectacular aura aboutemerson has a spectacular aura about
Joined: Nov 2009, #25872
Location: seattle
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
emerson's Tacoma Gallery
Try switching around the power plug. Green is positive and the white with black stripe wire is negitive ground.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 06:19 PM   #9
emerson [OP] emerson is offline
Member
emerson has a spectacular aura aboutemerson has a spectacular aura about
Joined: Nov 2009, #25872
Location: seattle
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
emerson's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaztoy View Post
Hi this is chaztoy, having trouble with left fog light. not working. checked fuse and relay no luck


Hahaha a month later and im having the exact same problem you are now. Did you ever find the fix?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:19 PM   #10
Junior Member
jus10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2009, #26649
Location: Honolulu, HI
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
jus10's Tacoma Gallery
hey guys, i just purchased some an HID kit 6k for my headlights on my 2010 taco sport and installed it. it was working fine for a couple hours and now they flicker and one side even goes out after flickering, is it because i need a relay? did you have to put in a relay for yours? thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 02:23 PM   #11
mmmmmmbourbon.
xodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shedxodeuce is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
xodeuce's Avatar
Joined: Oct 2009, #24427
Location: Alabama
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,402
xodeuce's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jus10 View Post
hey guys, i just purchased some an HID kit 6k for my headlights on my 2010 taco sport and installed it. it was working fine for a couple hours and now they flicker and one side even goes out after flickering, is it because i need a relay? did you have to put in a relay for yours? thanks.
The factory relay for the headlights should be perfectly capable of handling the current that the HID kit draws. The only purpose of the relay is because the switch that is in the stalk on your steering column can't handle the current, so instead the relay completes the headlamp circuit and will allow the higher current to flow safely without heating up. If you look at the specs on the HIDs they should actually draw less current than your stock lights.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 05:06 PM   #12
emerson [OP] emerson is offline
Member
emerson has a spectacular aura aboutemerson has a spectacular aura about
Joined: Nov 2009, #25872
Location: seattle
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
emerson's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by jus10 View Post
hey guys, i just purchased some an HID kit 6k for my headlights on my 2010 taco sport and installed it. it was working fine for a couple hours and now they flicker and one side even goes out after flickering, is it because i need a relay? did you have to put in a relay for yours? thanks.
I ran a relay for the headlights just to be on the safe side. Theres a lot of people who run HID without a relay on their hondas without issue. I have hids on my bike and its been 2 years without any problems.

The flicker problem might be a bad ballast. Passenger side fog did the same thing would struggle to ignite, and then blow the fuse.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:46 AM   #13
Junior Member
jus10 is on a distinguished road
Joined: Nov 2009, #26649
Location: Honolulu, HI
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
jus10's Tacoma Gallery
thanks everyone, gonna try and exchange it
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 06:01 PM   #14
Senior Member
blazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shedblazze2005 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
blazze2005's Avatar
Joined: Jan 2010, #29594
Location: South Jersey
Gender: Dude
Posts: 711
blazze2005's Tacoma Gallery
I want to do a HID kit to my oem fogs on my 05 tacoma...

Can someone please tell me how I would include the extra relay into the mix?

Anyone have a diagram how to include the extra relay into the fog kit from DDM?

thanks for any info...
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:14 PM   #15
emerson [OP] emerson is offline
Member
emerson has a spectacular aura aboutemerson has a spectacular aura about
Joined: Nov 2009, #25872
Location: seattle
Gender: Male
Posts: 54
emerson's Tacoma Gallery
From what I was told theres a factory relay for the fogs already.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 10:54 PM   #16
Senior Member
Viet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shedViet2100 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Viet2100's Avatar
Name: Viet
Joined: Jun 2007, #1930
Location: Delray Beach, FL
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,520
Viet2100's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Skype™ to Viet2100
Quote:
Originally Posted by emerson View Post
From what I was told theres a factory relay for the fogs already.
There is... to draw power from the source. You want to draw power from the battery.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55W HID in fogs Chachie Lighting 17 07-12-2010 11:57 AM
HID head/fogs TRDMEDIC Buy / Sell / Trade 10 06-22-2010 09:20 AM
HID smoked fogs gusher Lighting 3 04-14-2010 10:08 AM
HID Fogs, any issues? brian 2nd Gen. Tacomas 8 12-01-2009 01:48 PM
Those with HID fogs TRDMEDIC 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 11-09-2009 07:58 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.