Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

DC Wire Gauge (size) requirements?

Old 01-03-2010, 02:43 PM   #1
StaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jason
StaticFilter's Tacoma Gallery
DC Wire Gauge (size) requirements?

I'm an electrician, but I deal with mostly AC circuits from 120v-480v... I do some lower voltage stuff like Fire Alarm (24v). It's my understanding that DC systems need larger wire, is there a conversion chart or Allowable Ampacities of Conductors chart for DC systems?
If I have 4 100 Watt lights on 12 volts DC it comes to 33.4 Amps, 12 and maybe 14 gauge wire would be okay if it was an AC circuit, but what about for DC?
I pretty much want to find out if I can replace 2 of my 55w lamps with 100 watt lamps without running new wire
Old 01-03-2010, 04:26 PM   #2
Shine bright like a hymen
DDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Derek
DDD's Tacoma Gallery
It depends on the length of the wire, but 14 should be ok.

Look at this.