Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

DC Wire Gauge (size) requirements?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2010, 02:43 PM   #1
Senior Member
StaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jason
Joined: Apr 2009, #16228
Location: Cedar Hills, UT
Gender: Male
Posts: 719
StaticFilter's Tacoma Gallery
DC Wire Gauge (size) requirements?

I'm an electrician, but I deal with mostly AC circuits from 120v-480v... I do some lower voltage stuff like Fire Alarm (24v). It's my understanding that DC systems need larger wire, is there a conversion chart or Allowable Ampacities of Conductors chart for DC systems?
If I have 4 100 Watt lights on 12 volts DC it comes to 33.4 Amps, 12 and maybe 14 gauge wire would be okay if it was an AC circuit, but what about for DC?
I pretty much want to find out if I can replace 2 of my 55w lamps with 100 watt lamps without running new wire
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 04:26 PM   #2
DDD DDD is offline
Shine bright like a hymen
DDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shedDDD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
DDD's Avatar
Name: Derek
Joined: Mar 2009, #14416
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Age: 92
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,112
DDD's Tacoma Gallery
It depends on the length of the wire, but 14 should be ok.

Look at this.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 04:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
StaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shedStaticFilter is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Jason
Joined: Apr 2009, #16228
Location: Cedar Hills, UT
Gender: Male
Posts: 719
StaticFilter's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks! Exactly what I needed
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 04:50 PM   #4
I've got so much soul in me that I'm barely alive.
Zombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shedZombie Runner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Zombie Runner's Avatar
Air Force: AMMO (2W0)
Name: Kevin
Joined: Mar 2008, #5246
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 14,975
Zombie Runner's Tacoma Gallery
I use 12-14 for all my lightsz on my truck
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
0/1 gauge wire hookedontronics Buy / Sell / Trade 12 01-24-2012 12:14 PM
Gauge wire used for stock radio? DataCrypt 1st Gen. Tacomas 4 10-27-2011 11:22 PM
Wire gauge for bypass sdheda Audio & Video 3 07-22-2010 11:04 AM
Wire gauge questions brow Lighting 27 06-11-2010 04:42 PM
Obligatory wire gauge tour4fun Audio & Video 6 10-17-2009 08:57 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.