LSC15's 95 Tacoma 4x4

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Accessory fuse question

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2010, 10:07 PM   #1
cko [OP] cko is offline
Member
cko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of light
 
cko's Avatar
EMS:
Name: Chris
Joined: Jul 2009, #19853
Location: NoVa
Gender: Male
Posts: 51
cko's Tacoma Gallery
Accessory fuse question

This is kind of a hybrid question, but I have a set of Hella 500 (FF, not that it should matter) lights and a Uniden CB Radio. Now, not that I'm the forgetful type, but it'd be nice to have the failsafe of "key off, lights/radio off."

I'd kinda like to have an anytime use of the lights regardless of what headlights are on. As far as I know, the accessory fuse is the only way to accomplish that. My question is can I run both the lights and radio through the accessory fuse, or is it gonna be too much?

If it is, I'll just relegate the Hellas to only on with parking lights.

Sorry if the question doesn't make sense, I'm pretty much a n00b when it comes to electric/wiring--especially with fuses/output/draw/relays/allthatfanciness.

Thanks in advance,
Chris
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
topgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtopgun155 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
topgun155's Avatar
Name: Zack
Joined: Dec 2008, #11728
Location: Richmond, TX or College Station, TX
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,808
topgun155's Tacoma Gallery
You could to it the relay way. Then your battery powers everything and the accessory fuse only runs the relay.
But to answer your question I don't think that the accessory could do it all. That is a lot of juice.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 12:29 AM   #3
cko [OP] cko is offline
Member
cko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of lightcko is a glorious beacon of light
 
cko's Avatar
EMS:
Name: Chris
Joined: Jul 2009, #19853
Location: NoVa
Gender: Male
Posts: 51
cko's Tacoma Gallery
So I put both (the lights and the CB) hot wires to the Hella relay where the hot wire for the lights should go?

If I'm way off base let me know, I don't know that much about electronics
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse question zimm52 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 07-13-2011 11:32 AM
Is an inline fuse a must for tapping into accessory wire at radio? blazze2005 2nd Gen. Tacomas 7 06-15-2011 09:59 AM
Fuse question Cvd2312 1st Gen. Tacomas 2 02-10-2011 10:09 AM
2nd Gen accessory question for double cab muddin 2nd Gen. Tacomas 14 08-25-2010 10:54 AM
automotive accessory fuse amperage... t-frax 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 02-27-2009 06:37 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.