Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Lighting

Notices

Blowing Fog Light Relays

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-28-2010, 06:01 AM   #1
Vidman [OP] Vidman is offline
Protected by Glock
Vidman will become famous soon enoughVidman will become famous soon enough
Name: Rick
Joined: Sep 2009, #23471
Location: central Mass
Gender: Dude
Posts: 346
Vidman's Tacoma Gallery
Blowing Fog Light Relays

Need some help with this. I just installed mt Allpro front bumper and put my Piaa 510,s in. what i did was cut the plug end off the piaa wire harness and solderd them to the factory fog light harness. All good so far. I can run one light at a time,but when i plug both in and hit the switch...pow blown relay. I noticed that the factory fogs are 42 watt and my Piaa,s are 55 watt. Has anybody done this swap with fogs and got the same results or did they have to use the harness that came with the lights... checked for shorts 3 times and have none. Relays are about 18 bucks a pop...can someone send me in the right direction...Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2010, 05:32 AM   #3
Senior Member
Ridingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shedRidingontrd is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Ridingontrd's Avatar
Navy: '83-'87 Hull Tech.
Name: Richard
Joined: May 2008, #6459
Location: Laughlin,N.V
Age: 49
Gender: Male
Posts: 7,936
Ridingontrd's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Yahoo to Ridingontrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vidman View Post
Need some help with this. I just installed mt Allpro front bumper and put my Piaa 510,s in. what i did was cut the plug end off the piaa wire harness and solderd them to the factory fog light harness. All good so far. I can run one light at a time,but when i plug both in and hit the switch...pow blown relay. I noticed that the factory fogs are 42 watt and my Piaa,s are 55 watt. Has anybody done this swap with fogs and got the same results or did they have to use the harness that came with the lights... checked for shorts 3 times and have none. Relays are about 18 bucks a pop...can someone send me in the right direction...Thanks
What was the fix on this?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blowing tail light fuses foxroder Technical Chat 6 05-25-2014 08:49 AM
Locating Fog Light Mod Relays Taco zilla Lighting 0 02-13-2012 08:34 PM
PIAA off road light relays ToyComa92 Lighting 0 10-01-2011 09:02 PM
05+ ARB Bumper with Fog Light cutouts & Fog Lights in GA wmflyfisher Buy / Sell / Trade 5 07-13-2010 11:43 AM
Fog light Relay in Fuse box, No Taps, No Box Relays! krlang Lighting 7 07-21-2009 05:37 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.