1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Navy Corpsman out there? Civilian Paramedic here!

Discussion in 'Military' started by TacoMX, Jun 18, 2012.

1. Jun 18, 2012 at 12:00 AM
    TacoMX

TacoMX [OP] TW's Official anti body-lift pundit

Member:
    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Deltona, Florida
    Hello....

I have always considered joining the military since I graduated HS...almost joined the Army...now I am looking at the Navy...

I am currently a Civilian Paramedic, certified in FL (Not NREMT-P) and I am curious if a civilian paramedic could successfully be a Navy Corpsman or any other related job in the Navy.

I have been a civilian medic for 4 months now and Love it....I never would consider leaving the medical field, and I am also considering going to school to be an RN.

The reason why I am looking in other directions now is because EMS is dying in Florida. Most Fire departments are taking transports now, and the company I work for in Orlando is losing the 911 contract to Orlando fire this october....so no more 911 calls :mad::mad::mad::(:(:(:(

EMS providers are looked down upon around here unless you are a Fire medic...we get no respect from the Fire departments or the public...we are just "amberlamps drivers."

I was fire II certified, right now I need to recert, but Its very hard to find a job as a FF around here, especially in the current economical climate.

Plus I am not sure if I want to pursue the fire side anymore.

Any suggestions from anyone out there?

I love the job, just not where it seems to be heading around here.

2. Jun 18, 2012 at 7:58 AM
    tacomathom

tacomathom Well-Known Member