1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Interested in joining the Coast Guard

Discussion in 'Military' started by NumNutz, Feb 25, 2010.

1. Feb 25, 2010 at 8:21 PM
    NumNutz

NumNutz [OP] One of the original 7928

Member:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Vehicle:
    07 Tacoma 4x4 - Kings, TC, Dakars, broken stuff
    Lots.
    Hi everyone,

I am a college student in Upstate, NY. My family is not a traditional military family in any way. My grandfather was in WWII as a radio operator in a B-26 bomber. I have always want to follow in his footsteps and make him proud. He is proud of me either way and that's what matters. But I want to fly :D.

I have always liked the Coast Guard because they are focused on helping others through SAR, etc. and not necessarily taking lives like other branches (not trying to offend anyone here).

My background:
    -H.S. - 3.9 GPA
    -College - 2nd sem. freshman - 3.5 GPA
    -Majors: Double Major - Accounting and Business Administration w/ a concentration in Management
    -Eagle Scout - Completed Philmont, Seabase and Northern Tier
    -Certified SCUBA diver
    -Private Pilots License

I want to serve my country but I want to have fun doing it. In other words, I really only want to join the military if I can fly. I would join any branch. I know I wouldn't be flying everyday and that I would just push papers and run enlisted guys around.

Please don't be offended that I only want to serve my country if I can fly. I respect everyone in the Armed Forces and I always will. But if I can't fly for the military I'll just go on to be a boring financial advisor or accountant.

I guess I'm asking: