1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Air Force Reserve

Discussion in 'Military' started by The_Dude, Jun 30, 2010.

1. Jun 30, 2010 at 11:09 AM
    The_Dude

The_Dude [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    A friend of mine, who was in the Air Force, told me some info. on joining the Air Force Reserve and got me thinking. Currently, I am an instrument rated private pilot, and working on the commercial. Also, I am enrolled in Southern Illinois University Carbondale expecting to earn a B.S. in Aviation Management by summer 2011. The main thing I want to do is fly the C-17. From what my friend said, it is easier to do than one would assume. I was wondering if anyone on here had some more information on the likelihood of me doing so and if anyone could point me in the right direction to speak to someone other than a recruiter.

Thanks

2. Jul 4, 2010 at 8:47 AM
    Taco Gunner

Taco Gunner Well-Known Member

Member:
    Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2006 Access Cab TRD Offroad
    The USAF and most services have a bulk of pilots. Now, if you really want to fly, start the process now. Find a reserve/guard unit that flies C-17s and start talking to them...NOW! It can take a while. Talk to the Squadron commander or the director of operations...they will be your best source of information.

As for it being "easy"...not really. Very competitive right now...

3. Jul 4, 2010 at 9:14 AM
    Brunes

Brunes abides.

Member:
    First Name:
    Rotorhead
    Around
    Vehicle:
    08 Red/Graphite and Satin Black