1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Brand new rider needs help getting started in DS

Discussion in 'Motorcycles' started by Chickenmunga, Jun 11, 2014.

1. Jun 11, 2014 at 9:41 AM
    Chickenmunga

Chickenmunga [OP] Nuggety

Member:
    First Name:
    Mike
    Keizer, Oregon
    Vehicle:
    08 TRD Offroad DC 4x4 with stuff
    All the normal TW BS
    Hey all, I'm just getting into motorcycles and need your advice on gear.

• I completed a basic rider training course 2 weeks ago and have my endorsement, I have also taken an intro offroad course back in October.
    • I have zero access to friend's bikes, so trying stuff out is limited to dealerships.
    • So far, I am looking at buying a new '12 WR250R. I test drove it for 5 miles and felt pretty good, except the friction zone on the clutch was narrow - I assume I can overcome that with practice. I know people say "buy used", but I haven't seen much used due to the season, and I'm not sure what to look for in terms of what constitutes a good buy vs. a lemon.
    • I plan on riding my work commute (12 miles one way) and getting my skills up by riding some pretty tame gravel FS roads that are 20 miles from my house.

Anyway, more to my question, I'm trying to assemble a gear list. Is there any special gear considerations when you are a DS rider? I'll ask more specifically below:

1. Helmet: I wear glasses, so this gets tough with fit. I'm currently looking at the AFX FX-39 or the Kabuto Kamui. The AFX supports goggles, the Kabuto doesn't. Is this important? For pure fitment, the Kabuto feels amazing