Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > New Members

Notices

New guy from Alberta. No Taco yet though...

Old 08-10-2008, 03:48 PM   #1
little.one.der is on a distinguished road
little.one.der's Tacoma Gallery
Cool New guy from Alberta. No Taco yet though...

My name is Laurence. I'm an apprentice machinist. And I need a truck.

Currently drive an '06 Pontiac Wave and I am fed up with it. Engine had to be replaced at 23,000 km.

I know I want a Tacoma, second gen.

But there is something I can't decide. I don't know if I want 2WD or 4WD.

Do you guys have any pros and cons, or opinions about it?

I'm looking to get decent gas consumption numbers. And I would like to maybe tow a tent trailer or a sea-doo at some point in the future. Also, would the 2WD with proper winter tires and sand bags in the back be good enough for Alberta winters? The Wave was a joke, but it only had all-seasons. It was light enough that snow would pack under the engine tray and lift it off the ground.

I don't need the 4-door. Should I get the X-Runner?

I think I want an automatic. I am just kind of tired of shifting...

I'm not into jacking it up and putting mudders on it and going bogging... but I wouldn't be opposed to lowering it a couple inches. Getting more in touch with the pavement.

But yeah, going to figure out my finances this week and go and test drive one hopefully next week.

Old 08-10-2008, 08:14 PM   #2
Thinks he's Steve McQueen