1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New taco owner from Oregon

Discussion in 'New Members' started by alejandro, Mar 17, 2011.

1. Mar 17, 2011 at 10:18 AM
    alejandro

alejandro [OP] New Member

Member:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    11 PreRunner SR5
    Hi everyone,
    Total newb here. I bought my first ever new vehicle a couple weeks ago and am loving it! It's a magnetic grey 2011 Tacoma V6 Prerunner SR5 Access Cab. The only other vehicle I've owned is a used 98 Subaru Legacy Outback I bought when it was about eight years old. I've got a Taco and Subi... couldn't get more Portland than that.

I had been contemplating getting a truck for probably the last year or so. Initially I was thinking of getting a really old Toyota truck just to use for hauling stuff. But as I looked around and saw the prices people were asking I started to lean more towards getting a brand new truck with a warranty, maintenance and all that.

So I've been driving her for a couple weeks and so far so good. I'm waiting to get heated seats put in (my Subi has them so I had to check if they were available for the Taco). My dealer sold them to me at cost :D

The truck came with protective film applied to a few areas prone to scratches (under the door handle, edge of wheel well, et al.), but the dealer wanted close to $1000 to apply it to the front of the hood and lights. Does anyone in the PDX metro area have a shop/person they can recommend for affordable protective film work? I'm looking to do as much of the exterior as possible as I live in an area prone to bird poop and vandalism.