Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > New Members

Notices

New taco owner from Oregon

Old 03-17-2011, 10:18 AM   #1
alejandro is on a distinguished road
alejandro's Tacoma Gallery
Thumbs up New taco owner from Oregon

Hi everyone,
Total newb here. I bought my first ever new vehicle a couple weeks ago and am loving it! It's a magnetic grey 2011 Tacoma V6 Prerunner SR5 Access Cab. The only other vehicle I've owned is a used 98 Subaru Legacy Outback I bought when it was about eight years old. I've got a Taco and Subi... couldn't get more Portland than that.

I had been contemplating getting a truck for probably the last year or so. Initially I was thinking of getting a really old Toyota truck just to use for hauling stuff. But as I looked around and saw the prices people were asking I started to lean more towards getting a brand new truck with a warranty, maintenance and all that.

So I've been driving her for a couple weeks and so far so good. I'm waiting to get heated seats put in (my Subi has them so I had to check if they were available for the Taco). My dealer sold them to me at cost

The truck came with protective film applied to a few areas prone to scratches (under the door handle, edge of wheel well, et al.), but the dealer wanted close to $1000 to apply it to the front of the hood and lights. Does anyone in the PDX metro area have a shop/person they can recommend for affordable protective film work? I'm looking to do as much of the exterior as possible as I live in an area prone to bird poop and vandalism.

After reading the "improve gas mileage" sticky thread I'm thinking about installing an AFE air filter but since I've never owned a new vehicle with a maintenance package I'm wondering if it might get taken out during routine maintenance, or can I tell the dealer it's in there and they won't touch it?