Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > New Members

Notices

New guy from NE Missouri

Old 10-30-2013, 12:08 PM   #1
TrumanTacoma is on a distinguished road
TrumanTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
New guy from NE Missouri

Hey everybody, you've got another new guy to deal with now.

I'm currently a sophomore Agricultural Science student at Truman State University in Kirksville, MO. I lived and worked on our family dairy farm South of Kansas City before last year and over this past summer.

Anyway, on to the important stuff. I drove a Ranger all through high school and loved it, but it was a salvage title when I got it and was in no shape to travel the 3.5hr drive to school. Due to the fact that we are a grass-based dairy (cows are outside all the time) and the drought that summer really destroyed our grass crop, we had no money. SO, being a car fanatic myself, I had to pick a car for college that was cheap, fun, and reliable. I know I'm going to catch some serious flack (flame suitn), so I bought a Miata. What a fun car, in a few short words. I had plans for it too; swap, boost, track-ready suspension, the works. It was a '91 with only 77,000 original miles on it, and both previous owners could've been in an AARP commercial.

After a winter up here, and going home to the farm, and the fact that my girlfriend HATED that car, I sold it. So after much deliberation, I whittled it down to three possibilities: a Wrangler :doh: a Cherokee XJ, or a Tacoma. Long story short, this one just plopped right into my lap.

It's a '95, 2.7, 5-speed, 4x4, DLX. It had 191k on it when I looked at it, the seats were torn up, there was an obnoxious exhaust leak, BOTH rear leaf springs were (and still are) shattered, the a/c didn't work, there were dings and dents everywhere, the camper shell was awful, and the clutch was on its way out. Nonetheless, I saw it as a project, and it's all downhill from there.